CLCP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLCP Certification

TL;DR
  • The Certified Life Care Planner credential is administered by ICHCC and requires a peer-reviewed sample life care plan, not just an exam.
  • The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items; the published cutoff is 79.
  • Eligibility includes three years of relevant experience in the prior five and 120 approved training hours, 16 of them in methodology, orientation and standards.
  • Domain weights are not publicly disclosed, so no single area can honestly be called the heaviest; prepare across all 17 listed areas.

What the Certified Life Care Planner Credential Actually Is

A Certified Life Care Planner is a professional who prepares comprehensive, defensible projections of the future medical, rehabilitative, vocational and support needs of a person with a catastrophic injury or chronic condition, along with the costs of meeting those needs. The credential is administered by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC), and the designation signals that a practitioner has met education, experience, training and examination standards specific to life care planning.

If you are still orienting yourself on terminology, our explainers on what CLCP certification is and what CLCP stands for cover the basics. This article focuses on the practical path: who qualifies, what it costs, what the exam covers and how to keep the credential once you hold it.

A credential built around a work product: Unlike many certifications that rest on a single test sitting, this one includes a peer-reviewed sample life care plan as part of the eligibility structure. The exam tests whether you know the discipline; the sample plan tests whether you can actually produce one. Plan time for both.

The Eligibility Pathway: Education, Experience, Training Hours and Sample Plan

The requirements stack in layers. Each one has to be satisfied before you can sit for the exam, so it pays to audit your standing early. Our dedicated CLCP requirements guide goes deeper; here is the working summary drawn from the documented handbook.

The four building blocks

1. Qualifying healthcare education or credentials

Candidates must hold qualifying healthcare education or credentials. Confirm that your specific degree or license is accepted before you invest in training hours.

2. Relevant experience

Three years of relevant experience within the prior five years. The recency window matters: a long career that sits mostly outside the last five years may not satisfy the rule.

3. Approved training hours

120 approved training hours, including 16 hours specifically on methodology, orientation and standards.

  • The 16 specialized hours are a distinct requirement, not just a subset you can assume your general hours will cover.
  • Only approved training counts, so verify provider approval before enrolling. See our overview of CLCP training for how to evaluate programs.

4. A peer-reviewed sample life care plan

A sample plan submitted for peer review. When the sample-plan review applies to you, it carries its own fee (see the fee table below).

A discrepancy to watch: The main certification page and the older working handbook disagree on the training lookback window: five years on the main page versus seven in the handbook. The 2026 handbook link was not accessible when this was researched, so confirm the current window directly with ICHCC before counting older training hours toward your 120.

Fees and Registration Mechanics

The fee structure documented in the available sources is straightforward, though some details remain unconfirmed. For a fuller comparison against total career investment, see our CLCP certification cost breakdown.

ItemDocumented AmountNotes
Initial application$495No member differential found
Retest$150Applies if you need to retake the exam
Sample-plan review$375When applicable
Renewal (preapproved education)$400Listed in the shop
Renewal (non-preapproved education)$450Listed in the shop
Renewal by exam$895Alternative to the education route

Two cautions on the numbers. First, complete proctor-fee inclusion has not been confirmed, so budget for the possibility that remote or test-center proctoring carries a separate charge. Second, the working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam as the testing platform, but current 2026 booking instructions are unverified. Do not assume the process described in an older document still applies; read the current candidate instructions before you pay anything. Our exam dates and scheduling guide tracks how to approach the timing question.

What the Exam Looks Like

The documented examination consists of 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. The field-test items are experimental questions being evaluated for future exams; they are indistinguishable from scored items, so treat every question as if it counts.

Time allowance

The online allowance is documented as 3 hours 20 minutes, though a conflicting instruction elsewhere references 3 hours for the group setting. Until ICHCC clarifies, plan for the shorter figure as a pacing target: roughly 110 items in 3 hours leaves well under two minutes per question, which favors candidates who read scenario stems quickly.

Scoring

The published cutoff is 79. The current pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so any specific percentage you encounter online should be treated skeptically. Our pages on the passing score and the pass rate data explain what is and is not known, and our difficulty guide discusses how to interpret that uncertainty.

Policies that are still unverified: Whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are permitted and what the current remote-room rules require have not been confirmed. Do not rehearse under assumptions. Check the candidate handbook for each of these before test day, especially because the discipline involves cost projections where a calculator could matter.

The 17 Listed Areas, Explained

The 17 areas below come from the older official working handbook, which represents 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. No weights are published, so the order below reflects the handbook's listing rather than importance. For a domain-by-domain treatment, see our complete guide to the 17 content areas.

The agency and the foundation

International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency

This is the agency-knowledge component. Expect questions on ICHCC's role, the standards it sets and the professional expectations attached to the credential.

  • Know the certifying body's purpose and scope.
  • Understand how certification standards relate to practice standards.

The core planning workflow

Care Plan Development and Needs Assessment

The heart of the discipline: identifying what a person will need over a lifetime and organizing those needs into a coherent plan.

  • Link each projected item to a documented medical or functional basis.
  • Distinguish present needs from future and contingent needs.
  • Understand how an assessment feeds directly into plan structure.

Data Collection, File Development, Records Request and Records Review

Four areas that together cover how a planner builds the evidentiary foundation of a case.

  • Know what records to request, from whom and why.
  • Understand how to review records for relevance, gaps and conflicts.
  • Recognize how a well-organized file supports a defensible plan.

Financial Resources

Cost projection and the funding landscape. Expect to reason about how needs translate into dollars and how funding sources interact.

Vocational Consideration

How injury or illness affects earning capacity and work, and how vocational factors intersect with a life care plan without being confused with it.

Producing and communicating the work

Report Preparation and Report Writing

Two listed areas covering how the plan becomes a finished document.

  • Know the expected elements of a complete report.
  • Understand clarity, support for conclusions and defensibility.

Information Sharing and Collaboration

How planners work with physicians, therapists, attorneys, families and other stakeholders, and how information is exchanged appropriately.

Applied and professional areas

Litigation Support

Many plans are produced in the context of legal proceedings. Expect scenario questions about the planner's role, objectivity and the demands of testimony and review.

Knowledge Applications

Applying the discipline's body of knowledge to realistic case situations rather than reciting definitions.

Marketing and Professional Development

The business and growth side of practice, including how a planner represents credentials ethically and maintains competence over time.

Key Takeaway

Because ICHCC does not publish weights, no one can tell you which of these 17 areas dominates the exam. Be skeptical of any resource that claims a precise breakdown, and instead build competence across the full list.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around Those Areas

You do not need a generic study philosophy, but you do need an order. A sensible sequence follows the way a real case unfolds, since the exam's areas map onto that workflow. Pair this with the strategies in our CLCP study guide and the condensed review in the CLCP cheat sheet.

Weeks 1-2

Foundations and the case file

  • Agency knowledge and certification standards
  • Data collection, records request, records review and file development
Weeks 3-4

The planning core

  • Needs assessment and care plan development
  • Financial resources and vocational consideration
Weeks 5-6

Output and context

  • Report preparation and report writing
  • Litigation support, collaboration and information sharing
Weeks 7-8

Integration

  • Knowledge applications, marketing and professional development
  • Timed practice runs of 100 questions against the 3 hour pacing target

The logic: the case-file areas come first because every later area depends on understanding what evidence exists. Cost and vocational topics follow the needs assessment because they are downstream of it. When you are ready to test yourself, use the CLCP practice test to check your pacing on mixed-area sets.

Who Uses Certified Life Care Planners

The credential is held by professionals who practice in settings where long-term care needs and costs must be projected credibly. In practice that includes independent consulting practices, rehabilitation and case management organizations, and engagements with attorneys, insurers and families in catastrophic injury matters. Because litigation support is one of the 17 listed areas, legal-adjacent work is clearly part of the discipline's identity.

Salary and job-market data should be handled carefully; no figures are cited here because none are confirmed in the sources used for this article. For a qualitative view of the market, see our CLCP jobs overview, and for earnings context read the salary guide. To decide whether the investment makes sense for your situation, our ROI analysis walks through the considerations.

Keeping the Credential: Renewal Every Five Years

Certification is not permanent. The documented renewal cycle is every five years and requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. Renewal can be pursued through approved education or by examination.

  • Education route: $400 when the education is preapproved, $450 when it is not.
  • Exam route: $895 to renew by examination.

The fee gap makes preapproval worth checking before you enroll in continuing education. Track your hours as you earn them rather than reconstructing them at the end of the cycle, and make sure your 8 ethics hours are specifically ethics content.

Plan renewal at the start: The five-year cycle and the 80-hour requirement mean roughly 16 hours per year on average. Treat professional development as a standing practice rather than a last-year scramble; it is also one of the 17 listed exam areas.

What Remains Unconfirmed (and How to Plan Around It)

Responsible preparation means knowing the limits of what is documented. Several items are explicitly unverified, and weighted mock exams are on hold until the current outline is confirmed.

Open QuestionWhat Is KnownHow to Plan
Domain weightsNot published; no largest area identifiableStudy all 17 areas evenly
Current handbook2026 handbook link was inaccessible; list comes from older working handbookObtain the current outline from ICHCC before finalizing your plan
Exam duration3 hours 20 minutes online; a conflicting 3 hour instruction existsPractice to the shorter limit
Open-book, calculator, remote-room rulesUnverifiedConfirm in the current candidate instructions
Booking platform and steps for 2026Prov/ProExam identified in the working handbook; current instructions unverifiedFollow only current ICHCC guidance
Pass rateNot publicly disclosedAim for strong, consistent practice scores rather than a rumored threshold

The core principle is to treat every uncertain item as something to verify directly with the certifying body. A few emails or a careful read of the current handbook will resolve most of them, and doing so before you pay the $495 application fee is far cheaper than discovering a mismatch afterward.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who administers the Certified Life Care Planner credential?

The credential is administered by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). The working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam for testing, but current 2026 booking instructions have not been verified, so confirm the process with ICHCC directly.

How many questions are on the exam and what score do I need?

The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. The published cutoff is 79. The current pass rate is not publicly disclosed.

What does it cost to get certified?

The initial application is $495, a retest is $150 and a sample-plan review is $375 when applicable. No member differential was found, and whether proctor fees are fully included is unconfirmed. See our cost breakdown for planning detail.

Do I have to submit a life care plan, or is the exam enough?

Eligibility includes a peer-reviewed sample life care plan in addition to qualifying education, three years of relevant experience in the prior five and 120 approved training hours (16 of them in methodology, orientation and standards). The exam alone is not the full pathway.

How often do I renew, and what does it take?

Renewal is every five years and requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. The shop lists $400 for preapproved education, $450 for non-preapproved education and $895 for renewal by exam.

For hands-on practice across all 17 areas, start with the CLCP Exam Prep practice tests, and keep the CLCP certification overview handy as you confirm current requirements with ICHCC.

Ready to pass your CLCP exam?

Put this into practice with free CLCP questions across every exam domain.