- The CLCP Fee Schedule at a Glance
- The $495 Initial Application
- Sample-Plan Review and Retest Fees
- Costs That Never Appear on the Fee Schedule
- The 120-Hour Training Requirement as a Cost Driver
- Exam Format, Booking and What the Fee May Not Cover
- Renewal Costs Over a Five-Year Cycle
- Three Budget Scenarios
- Spending Strategy Tied to the Exam Content
- Weighing Cost Against Career Return
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The initial CLCP application fee is $495; a retest costs $150 and a sample-plan review adds $375 when applicable.
- Training hours (120 approved, including 16 on methodology, orientation and standards) are usually the largest expense, not the exam fee.
- No member discount was found, and whether proctor fees are fully included in the application fee is unconfirmed.
- Renewal runs every five years with 80 credits/hours including 8 in ethics; shop listings show $400 to $450, or $895 by exam.
The CLCP Fee Schedule at a Glance
The Certified Life Care Planner credential is administered through the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC), and its direct fees are refreshingly short compared with many professional credentials. The published figures are a $495 initial application, a $150 retest fee, and a $375 sample-plan review that applies only in certain circumstances. That is the whole core schedule. The real cost of becoming a CLCP lives in what surrounds those numbers: qualifying education, approved training hours, preparing a peer-reviewed sample life care plan, and the recurring cost of staying certified.
Before building a budget, confirm every figure with ICHCC. The linked 2026 handbook could not be accessed during research, and the fees below come from the older official working handbook and current shop listings. Treat them as a planning baseline, not a quote.
| Cost Item | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Initial application | $495 | Core certification fee |
| Retest | $150 | Applies if a re-sit is needed |
| Sample-plan review | $375 | When applicable |
| Renewal (preapproved) | $400 | Listed in shop; every five years |
| Renewal (non-preapproved) | $450 | Listed in shop; every five years |
| Renewal by exam | $895 | Alternative to education-based renewal |
| Member discount | None found | No differential identified |
The $495 Initial Application
The $495 application fee is the gateway charge. It is paid as you apply, which means you are paying before you know for certain that your documentation will be accepted. That makes it important to understand eligibility first. If you are unsure whether your credentials and experience qualify, read the full CLCP requirements breakdown before spending anything.
Eligibility is multi-part, and each part has a cost or time implication:
- Qualifying healthcare education or credentials: you must already hold them, so this is a sunk cost for most applicants.
- Three years of relevant experience within the prior five: no fee, but a hard time gate that cannot be bought around.
- 120 approved training hours: including 16 hours covering methodology, orientation and standards. This is where most of your money goes.
- A peer-reviewed sample life care plan: a work product that costs time and, in some cases, review fees.
Sample-Plan Review and Retest Fees
The $375 sample-plan review
The peer-reviewed sample life care plan is a distinctive feature of this credential. Most healthcare exams test knowledge only; the CLCP pathway also asks you to demonstrate that you can produce a plan that survives review. The $375 review fee is listed as applying "when applicable," so confirm in advance whether your situation triggers it. If it does, add it to your base cost: $495 plus $375 is $870 before any training or exam-related extras.
Budget extra time as well as money here. A plan that needs revision after review delays your timeline, and delays carry indirect costs if you are planning around a job change or a new consulting launch. The plan itself draws on the same skills the exam tests: needs assessment, data collection, records review, financial resources and report writing. Our guide to all 17 CLCP content areas maps those skills in detail.
The $150 retest
A retest costs $150, which is notably gentler than the initial fee. The exam consists of 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items, with a published cutoff of 79. The current pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so nobody can responsibly tell you the odds of needing a retest. What you can do is treat the $150 as a modest insurance line in your budget while preparing well enough to avoid it. For a realistic sense of difficulty, see how hard the CLCP exam really is and the discussion of what data exists on pass rates.
Costs That Never Appear on the Fee Schedule
Candidates often budget only for the published fees and then feel blindsided. The expenses below are real, but their amounts depend on your choices and local market, so no figures are claimed here.
Indirect costs to anticipate
These do not appear on ICHCC's fee list but belong in a complete budget.
- Reference materials: life care planning texts, standards of practice, and costing resources used when learning the needs assessment and financial resources content.
- Records and sample materials: if you practice with realistic file-development and records-review exercises, there may be copying, redaction or access costs.
- Professional review of your sample plan: beyond the official review fee, some candidates seek informal mentoring from a practicing CLCP.
- Lost billable time: hours spent on training and plan preparation are hours not spent on paid work, a major hidden cost for independent practitioners.
- Practice testing: a quality question bank costs far less than a retest plus a delayed credential.
The 120-Hour Training Requirement as a Cost Driver
For most candidates, the largest single expense is not any ICHCC fee. It is the 120 approved training hours, including 16 hours focused on methodology, orientation and standards. Training providers set their own prices and formats, and ICHCC does not set a price for them, so costs range widely. This is why the sticker price of the credential is misleading: the application is $495, but getting eligible to apply can cost many multiples of that depending on the program you select.
Practical ways to manage this cost without compromising eligibility:
- Confirm approval first. Only approved hours count. Verify a program's approval status with ICHCC before enrolling, not after.
- Check what your employer reimburses. Rehabilitation, nursing and case-management employers sometimes fund continuing education that also counts toward the requirement.
- Audit your existing hours. Past training may already qualify, subject to the lookback window question described above.
- Separate the 16 specialized hours. The methodology, orientation and standards block is mandatory, so make sure at least one program in your plan covers it explicitly.
For a closer look at what training programs typically cover, see our overview of CLCP training.
Exam Format, Booking and What the Fee May Not Cover
Several fee-related questions remain unconfirmed, and it is better to flag them than guess. The working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam as the testing vendor, but current 2026 booking instructions are unverified. Whether the application fee fully includes proctoring is also not confirmed. If a separate proctor or testing-center fee exists, it would sit on top of the $495.
What is documented about the exam itself:
- 100 scored multiple-choice questions, plus up to 10 unscored field-test items you cannot distinguish from scored ones.
- An online allowance of 3 hours 20 minutes, with a conflicting instruction elsewhere citing 3 hours for group settings.
- A published cutoff of 79.
Open-book rules, calculator policy and current remote-room requirements are all unverified. That matters financially, because a remote exam may require equipment, a compliant room or a stable connection, while an in-person one may involve travel. Ask ICHCC for the current delivery rules before you commit to a date, and see our guide to CLCP exam dates and scheduling for timing considerations.
Renewal Costs Over a Five-Year Cycle
Certification is not a one-time purchase. The CLCP renews every five years, and the requirement is 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. Shop listings show two education-based renewal prices and one exam-based option:
- $400 for preapproved renewal.
- $450 for non-preapproved renewal.
- $895 for renewal by exam.
The $50 difference between the first two is small, but the logic is worth noting: preapproved education has already been vetted, so submitting it is smoother. Renewal by exam is the expensive route and mostly makes sense if you fell short on education credits. Spread across five years, even the highest renewal option is a modest annualized cost compared with the original training investment.
Key Takeaway
Start logging education hours and ethics credits from the day you certify. The 8-hour ethics component is easy to leave until last and hard to rush. Collecting hours steadily avoids the temptation of the $895 exam-based renewal.
Three Budget Scenarios
Because training costs vary by provider and no figures for them are published by ICHCC, the table below counts only the fees documented above and describes training qualitatively. Use it to see how your own path stacks up.
| Scenario | Documented Fees | Training Cost Profile |
|---|---|---|
| Clean first attempt, no sample review fee | $495 | Depends entirely on your provider choice |
| First attempt with sample-plan review | $495 + $375 = $870 | Same, plus time for plan preparation |
| Review plus one retest | $495 + $375 + $150 = $1,020 | Same; retest adds a delay |
Note that these totals exclude any proctoring or testing-center charge that may apply, since that point is unconfirmed. Add renewal on top for a full five-year view: $400 to $450 for education-based renewal, or $895 by exam.
Spending Strategy Tied to the Exam Content
The smartest way to control cost is to avoid paying for the exam twice. That means preparing against the actual content. The 17 listed areas come from the older official working handbook and represent 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. No weights are published, so no single area can be identified as largest. Because of that, resist any prep product that claims to know exactly how heavily each area is tested.
Where to spend preparation time and money
Since weights are unpublished, balance your effort across clusters of related areas rather than betting on one.
- Plan-building core: Care Plan Development, Needs Assessment, Financial Resources and Vocational Consideration. These mirror what your sample plan demonstrates.
- Evidence and documentation: Data Collection, Records Request, Records Review, File Development, Report Preparation and Report Writing.
- Professional context: Litigation Support, Collaboration, Information Sharing, Marketing and Professional Development.
- Foundations: Knowledge Applications and the agency knowledge tied to the International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency itself.
A short sequencing note, since this is the one place study planning matters for cost: schedule the documentation cluster early, because it feeds directly into your sample plan, then move to professional context and foundations in the final weeks. That ordering lets one body of work serve both the plan review and the exam. For a fuller plan, see our CLCP study guide and the one-page CLCP cheat sheet. When you want exam-style repetition, the practice test site provides question practice that can help you avoid the $150 retest.
Weighing Cost Against Career Return
Whether the total outlay makes sense depends on where you plan to work. Life care planners typically serve in litigation-adjacent and medical-legal settings: plaintiff and defense attorneys, insurers, rehabilitation firms and independent consulting practices. The credential signals that your planning methodology meets an established standard, which can matter when your work is scrutinized in a legal context. Browse typical roles in our overview of CLCP jobs.
No salary figures are asserted here because verified numbers are not available in the source material. For a discussion of earnings drivers, read the CLCP salary guide, and for a structured look at payback, see whether the certification is worth it. If you are still deciding whether the credential fits your path, start with what CLCP certification involves.
Frequently Asked Questions
The documented ICHCC fees are $495 for the initial application, $150 for a retest and $375 for a sample-plan review when applicable. The largest additional cost is usually the 120 approved training hours, whose price depends on the provider you choose.
No member price differential was found in the available materials. Confirm directly with ICHCC, since fee structures can change and the 2026 handbook could not be verified.
That is not confirmed. The working handbook names Prov/ProExam as the vendor, but current 2026 booking instructions are unverified, so ask ICHCC whether any separate testing charge applies.
Renewal occurs every five years and requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. Shop listings show $400 preapproved or $450 non-preapproved, and $895 for renewal by exam.
The listed retest fee is $150. The published cutoff is 79 on 100 scored questions, and the current pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so plan your preparation to avoid the extra fee and delay.