CLCP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLCP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • Certified Life Care Planner testing is administered through ICHCC, with Prov/ProExam identified in the working handbook; confirm current 2026 booking steps...
  • The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items.
  • Initial application is $495; a retest is $150; a sample-plan review adds $375 when applicable.
  • Eligibility, including a peer-reviewed sample life care plan, must be settled before any exam date matters.

Why Certified Life Care Planner Exam Dates Work Differently

Candidates searching for a tidy list of "2026 testing windows" for the Certified Life Care Planner credential often come away frustrated. The reason is straightforward: the credential is governed by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC), and the materials we can document do not present a published table of fixed national exam dates. Instead, the practical path runs through application approval first, then scheduling through the testing vendor identified in the working handbook.

That distinction matters. For many exams you pick a date and then scramble to qualify. For this credential the sequence is reversed: your eligibility file, your training hours, and your peer-reviewed sample life care plan determine when you can realistically sit. A date is the last step, not the first.

Be honest about what is verified: The readable working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam as the testing platform, but current 2026 booking instructions could not be verified, and the linked 2026 handbook was inaccessible when this guide was researched. Treat any specific calendar date you see quoted elsewhere with skepticism until you confirm it with ICHCC directly.

If you are still deciding whether the credential suits your career, our guides on what CLCP certification is and CLCP requirements and eligibility are good companions to this article.

What the Documented Facts Tell Us About the 2026 Exam

Rather than speculate about dates, it is more useful to lay out what is documented and what remains unverified. Planning around reliable facts protects you from booking mistakes.

ItemDocumented Status
Certifying bodyICHCC
Testing platformProv/ProExam identified in the working handbook; current 2026 booking instructions unverified
Scored questions100 multiple-choice
Unscored itemsUp to 10 field-test questions
Online time allowance3 hours 20 minutes (with a conflicting 3-hour group instruction)
Published cutoff79
Current pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Open-book, calculator, remote-room rulesUnverified for current administration

Notice how many rows say "unverified." That is not a flaw in your research; it is the current state of publicly accessible information. The smart response is to build a verification step into your timeline, which we cover below. For more on the numbers behind scoring, see our breakdown of the CLCP passing score and the discussion in CLCP pass rate: what the data shows.

The Eligibility Gate Comes Before Any Date

Because eligibility drives scheduling, it deserves attention in a dates article. The documented requirements include qualifying healthcare education or credentials, three years of relevant experience within the prior five, 120 approved training hours (16 of which must cover methodology, orientation, and standards), and a peer-reviewed sample life care plan.

Where candidates lose months

Three items most often stretch a timeline, and none of them involve the exam appointment itself.

  • The 120 training hours: Only approved hours count, and 16 must be methodology, orientation, and standards content. If your coursework was not approved, it will not satisfy the requirement.
  • The training lookback: The main ICHCC page cites a five-year lookback for training, while the working handbook references seven years. Confirm which applies to you before assuming older coursework counts.
  • The peer-reviewed sample life care plan: Writing a credible plan takes real time, and a review fee of $375 applies when the review is required.

If you are still assembling your training hours, our overview of CLCP training explains how approved coursework fits into the picture. Settling the training question early is the single best way to protect your target exam window.

Fees That Shape Your Scheduling Decisions

Money and timing are linked. The documented fee structure influences how aggressively you should schedule, because a failed attempt carries a distinct cost.

FeeAmountScheduling Implication
Initial application$495Paid at the start of the process; do not apply until your file is nearly complete
Retest$150Lower than the initial fee, which softens the cost of a second attempt
Sample-plan review$375 (when applicable)Budget separately; timing depends on peer-review turnaround

Two cautions apply. First, no member-versus-nonmember price differential was found, so do not assume a discount exists. Second, complete proctor-fee inclusion was not confirmed, meaning you should ask whether any proctoring or platform charge sits on top of the listed fees before you budget. Our full CLCP certification cost breakdown walks through how these line items add up, and the ROI analysis helps you decide whether the total investment pays off.

Key Takeaway

Because a retest costs $150 against a $495 initial application, the financial penalty for a first-attempt miss is modest, but the time cost is not. Schedule your first attempt only after you have scored consistently on realistic practice material.

Exam-Day Format: What You Are Scheduling Into

When you choose an exam slot, you are choosing a block of sustained concentration. The documented format is 100 scored multiple-choice questions, with up to 10 additional unscored field-test items mixed in. You will not know which items are unscored, so treat every question as if it counts.

The time allowance has a wrinkle worth knowing about. The online allowance is documented as 3 hours 20 minutes, yet the materials also contain a conflicting 3-hour instruction for group settings. Until you confirm which applies to your administration, plan for the shorter figure so you are never caught short on pacing. That works out to roughly two minutes per question at three hours across 110 total items, which leaves little room for lingering on scenario-heavy questions.

Policies you must verify before exam day

  • Open-book status: Not verified for the current administration. Do not assume reference materials are allowed.
  • Calculator use: Not verified. Because life care plans involve cost projection, this matters for how you practice.
  • Remote-room requirements: Current policies were not confirmed. Ask about camera, desk, and environment rules before you book an online slot.

Our guide on how hard the CLCP exam is discusses how the question style tends to feel in practice, which helps you decide how much buffer to build in before your date.

The 17 Content Areas Your Date Must Accommodate

Your exam date should be set by how long it takes to cover the material, not the other way around. The working handbook lists 17 areas, representing 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. Importantly, no weights are published for these areas, so no single domain can be identified as the largest. Anyone claiming to know the exact percentage breakdown is guessing.

The listed areas are:

  • International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency
  • Care Plan Development
  • Needs Assessment
  • Vocational Consideration
  • Litigation Support
  • Knowledge Applications
  • Marketing
  • Information Sharing
  • Data Collection
  • Report Preparation
  • Records Request
  • Professional Development
  • Report Writing
  • Financial Resources
  • File Development
  • Collaboration
  • Records Review

Because the 2026 handbook was inaccessible and this list comes from the older official working handbook, confirm the current outline before you finalize your study calendar. Our complete guide to all 17 CLCP content areas expands on each one.

Clusters that share study effort

You can reduce total prep time by grouping related areas rather than studying 17 isolated topics.

  • Documentation cluster: Data Collection, Records Request, Records Review, File Development, Report Preparation, and Report Writing all revolve around how a plan is built from source material and communicated.
  • Planning cluster: Needs Assessment, Care Plan Development, Vocational Consideration, and Financial Resources cover the substance of what goes into a plan and how it is priced.
  • Practice and profession cluster: Litigation Support, Collaboration, Information Sharing, Marketing, Professional Development, Knowledge Applications, and the agency area cover how a planner operates in the field.

Working Backward From Your Target Date

Since there is no published fixed calendar to anchor to, the most reliable method is to pick a realistic target month and build backward. The schedule below ties each phase to the clusters above rather than offering a generic template. Adjust the length of each phase to your own experience; a planner who already writes litigation-support reports will move through the documentation cluster faster than a newcomer.

Phase 1

Lock eligibility and verify logistics

  • Confirm your 120 approved training hours, including the 16 methodology, orientation, and standards hours
  • Resolve the five-year versus seven-year training lookback question with ICHCC
  • Ask about booking steps, proctor fees, remote-room rules, and open-book and calculator policy
Phase 2

Planning cluster first

  • Study Needs Assessment and Care Plan Development, since they anchor how every other area is tested
  • Add Vocational Consideration and Financial Resources, practicing cost reasoning without assuming a calculator
Phase 3

Documentation cluster

  • Work through Data Collection, Records Request, Records Review, and File Development as one connected workflow
  • Finish with Report Preparation and Report Writing, tying them back to your sample plan
Phase 4

Practice cluster and timed review

  • Cover Litigation Support, Collaboration, Information Sharing, Marketing, Professional Development, Knowledge Applications, and the agency area
  • Run timed sets against a 100-question format, pacing to the shorter time allowance

For a deeper study framework, see our CLCP study guide for passing on the first attempt, and use the CLCP practice test to check readiness before you commit to a slot.

Retests, Sample-Plan Reviews, and the Five-Year Renewal Clock

Your first exam date is not the last date that matters. Two later timelines are worth understanding now, because they affect how you think about the credential as a long-term commitment.

If you need a second attempt

A retest is documented at $150. The published cutoff is 79, and because the current pass rate is not publicly disclosed, you cannot lean on a known base rate when deciding how much margin to build. If your first attempt falls short, review your weakest cluster, then rebook only after your practice results are consistently above the cutoff.

The renewal cycle

Certification renews every five years and requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. Renewal pricing listed on the shop is $400 for preapproved education and $450 for non-preapproved education, while renewal by exam is listed at $895. Mapping your continuing education from the day you certify keeps you out of the costlier exam-based route.

Plan the renewal on day one: Eighty credits over five years is manageable if you collect them steadily, and the 8-hour ethics requirement is easy to forget until the deadline looms. Logging approved courses as you complete them avoids a last-minute scramble.

Candidates weighing the career payoff of all this effort may find our CLCP salary guide and overview of CLCP jobs useful context for deciding how aggressively to pursue an early date.

Verification Checklist Before You Book

Because several policies could not be confirmed, treat the following as a short list of questions to put to ICHCC or the testing vendor before you pay or schedule anything.

  1. What are the current 2026 booking instructions, and is Prov/ProExam still the platform?
  2. Is the training lookback five years or seven years for my application?
  3. Does any proctoring or platform fee apply beyond the listed $495 application fee?
  4. Is the exam open-book, and are calculators permitted?
  5. What are the current remote-room and environment requirements?
  6. Is the time allowance 3 hours 20 minutes or 3 hours for my administration?
  7. Has the content outline changed from the 17 areas in the older working handbook?

Getting written answers to these questions removes most of the uncertainty that makes exam scheduling stressful. It also protects you from relying on outdated guidance, which is the most common way candidates end up misprepared.

If you want a quick refresher on the essentials once your date is set, our CLCP cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts, and the practice questions at our main practice test site let you rehearse the 100-question pacing under realistic conditions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed national exam dates for the Certified Life Care Planner credential in 2026?

No fixed national calendar is documented in the materials available. The process runs through ICHCC application approval, then scheduling through the testing platform identified in the working handbook. Because current 2026 booking instructions are unverified, confirm available windows directly with ICHCC.

How much does it cost to take the exam?

The initial application is $495, a retest is $150, and a sample-plan review is $375 when applicable. No member discount was found, and whether proctor fees are fully included was not confirmed, so ask before budgeting.

How many questions are on the exam, and how long do I have?

The documented format is 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. The online allowance is 3 hours 20 minutes, though a conflicting 3-hour group instruction exists, so confirm which applies to you.

What score do I need to pass?

The published cutoff is 79. A current pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so avoid relying on any pass-rate figure that lacks a clear source.

How often must I renew, and what does it take?

Renewal is every five years and requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. Listed renewal pricing is $400 for preapproved and $450 for non-preapproved education, or $895 to renew by exam.

Ready to pass your CLCP exam?

Put this into practice with free CLCP questions across every exam domain.