CLCP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLCP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • ICHCC eligibility combines qualifying healthcare education, three years of relevant experience in the prior five, 120 training hours, and a sample plan.
  • Of the 120 approved training hours, 16 must cover methodology, orientation, and standards of practice.
  • The initial application is $495; a retest is $150; a sample-plan review, when applicable, is $375.
  • The exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items; the published cutoff is 79.

What the Certified Life Care Planner Credential Actually Requires

The Certified Life Care Planner credential is not an entry-level designation you can pick up straight out of school. It is a practitioner credential built for people who already work in healthcare, rehabilitation, or related fields and who want to be recognized for the specialized skill of projecting a catastrophically injured or chronically ill person's future care needs and costs. The requirements reflect that. They are layered: you need a qualifying professional foundation, documented real-world experience, focused training in life care planning itself, and a work product that peers have reviewed.

This guide walks through each requirement as documented in the readable working handbook from the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC), explains how the gates fit together, and flags the places where published information conflicts or could not be confirmed. If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, start with What Is CLCP Certification? or What Is A CLCP? and then return here for the qualification details.

The Four Eligibility Gates at a Glance

Think of eligibility as four gates you must pass through before you are cleared to test. Each one is independent, and a gap in any of them will stall your application.

GateRequirementKey Detail
1. Education/credentialsQualifying healthcare education or credentialsMust fall within the categories the handbook recognizes
2. ExperienceThree years of relevant experienceMust fall within the prior five years
3. Training120 approved training hours16 hours must cover methodology, orientation, and standards
4. Work productPeer-reviewed sample life care planSample-plan review fee of $375 applies when applicable
Sequence matters: Because the experience window is a rolling five-year lookback and the training hours have their own lookback, the order in which you complete the gates can affect whether older work still counts. Plan the timeline backward from your intended application date rather than collecting requirements opportunistically.

Gate One: Qualifying Healthcare Education and Credentials

The first gate is a professional foundation. The credential expects applicants to hold qualifying healthcare education or credentials, which in practice means the kind of clinical, rehabilitation, or allied-health background that equips someone to evaluate medical records, understand prognosis, and reason about long-term care needs. Life care planning draws on nursing, physical and occupational therapy, rehabilitation counseling, case management, and related disciplines, and the credential's eligibility rules are designed to accommodate that range.

The precise list of accepted degrees and licenses is defined by ICHCC. Because the linked 2026 handbook could not be accessed during research for this article, treat the older working handbook's categories as a guide only and confirm your specific degree or license against the current published criteria before paying any fee. If your background is borderline, ask ICHCC directly and keep the written response with your application records.

Why the foundation matters to the exam

This gate is not just administrative. Several exam content areas, including Needs Assessment, Data Collection, Records Review, and Care Plan Development, assume you can read medical documentation with clinical literacy. Candidates whose professional foundation is strong in one discipline but thin in another often need to deliberately broaden their knowledge, a theme explored in How Hard Is the CLCP Exam?

Gate Two: Three Years of Relevant Experience in the Prior Five

The second gate is time in practice. Applicants must document three years of relevant experience, and that experience must fall within the prior five years. Two features of this rule deserve attention.

  • Relevance is the operative word. Three years of general clinical work is not automatically the same as three years of relevant experience. Work that touches case management, rehabilitation planning, medical-legal analysis, cost projection, or the evaluation of long-term care needs is the kind of experience that will most clearly support your application.
  • The five-year window is a rolling lookback. If you stepped away from relevant work for an extended period, older experience may age out, which is why a candidate with ten strong years in the field can still run into trouble if the most recent stretch was unrelated.

Keep supporting documentation: job descriptions, employer verification, and a clear summary of how each role connected to life care planning tasks. Reviewers evaluate what you actually did, not just your title.

Gate Three: 120 Approved Training Hours

The third gate is structured education in the discipline itself. Applicants need 120 approved training hours, and within those, 16 hours must be devoted to methodology, orientation, and standards. That 16-hour block is the part most candidates underestimate: it is where the foundational approach to life care planning, the expectations for the work product, and the professional standards that govern it are taught.

How the 120 hours break down

The published structure is simple but strict.

  • 120 approved training hours in total
  • 16 of those hours must cover methodology, orientation, and standards of practice
  • The remaining hours can be drawn from approved programs relevant to life care planning practice
  • Only approved training counts, so verify approval status before enrolling

The lookback discrepancy you need to know about

One of the clearest inconsistencies in the published materials concerns how far back training hours may reach. The main page describes a five-year training lookback, while the older working handbook describes seven years. These cannot both be correct for the current cycle. Until you confirm the controlling figure with ICHCC, the conservative approach is to assume five years and only rely on older hours if ICHCC confirms in writing that they qualify.

For a broader look at the training landscape, see CLCP Training, and for how the hours feed into total spend, CLCP Certification Cost 2026 breaks down the pricing picture.

Gate Four: The Peer-Reviewed Sample Life Care Plan

The fourth gate is what separates this credential from a purely exam-based one: you must submit a sample life care plan that has been peer reviewed. This is an applied work product, not a theoretical exercise. It demonstrates that you can take a case, gather and review the records, assess needs, project items of care with costs over a lifetime, and organize the result into a coherent, defensible document.

A strong sample plan typically shows evidence of:

  • Systematic records review and a clear chronology of the injury or condition
  • A needs assessment that connects documented medical findings to projected future care
  • Cost data with identifiable sources rather than unsupported estimates
  • Attention to vocational and financial considerations where they bear on the plan
  • Professional report writing that would hold up under scrutiny in a litigation setting
Budget for the review: A sample-plan review fee of $375 applies when applicable. Confirm whether your situation triggers it before you submit, so the fee does not surprise you late in the process.

The sample plan is also where the exam content areas stop being abstract. Domains like Report Writing, Report Preparation, File Development, and Records Review are exactly the skills a reviewer will see in your document. Treat the sample plan as both a requirement and a rehearsal.

Application Fees and Registration Mechanics

Fee information below comes from the documented fee schedule, with notes about what could not be confirmed.

ItemFeeNotes
Initial application$495Starting point for first-time candidates
Retest$150For candidates who do not pass on a given attempt
Sample-plan review$375Applies when applicable

Two caveats are worth stating plainly. First, no member-versus-nonmember price differential was found, so do not assume a discount exists. Second, it was not confirmed whether the proctoring fee is fully included in the application price, so ask before you budget. The working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam as the delivery platform, but current 2026 booking instructions could not be verified, which means you should not rely on a secondhand description of how to schedule. For the full financial picture and how these fees stack against training costs, read CLCP Certification Cost 2026, and for scheduling logistics see CLCP Exam Dates 2026.

What You Qualify to Sit For: Exam Format

Meeting the requirements clears you to take a multiple-choice examination. The documented format is 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. Field-test items look identical to scored items but do not count toward your result, so you cannot tell which are which and should treat every question seriously.

  • Timing: The online allowance is documented as 3 hours 20 minutes, though a conflicting group instruction lists 3 hours. Confirm which applies to your sitting.
  • Cutoff: The published cutoff is 79. For context on what that figure means, see CLCP Passing Score 2026.
  • Pass rate: A current pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so any specific percentage you see circulating should be treated skeptically. CLCP Pass Rate 2026 discusses what can and cannot be said.
  • Unverified policies: Open-book rules, calculator allowances, and current remote-room requirements could not be confirmed. Do not assume any of them; check the candidate instructions you receive.

Key Takeaway

The requirements and the exam are linked. The three-years-in-five experience rule and the sample plan are designed to ensure you can already do the work; the exam then tests whether you understand the standards, methods, and knowledge behind it. Preparing for one strengthens the other.

The 17 Content Areas Behind the Requirements

The examination content is organized into 17 listed areas drawn from the older official working handbook, representing 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. No weights are published, so no single area can be identified as the largest, and any claim that one domain dominates the exam is unsupported. Understanding the areas also clarifies why the eligibility gates exist. The full treatment is in CLCP Exam Domains 2026; here is how they map to the requirements.

Work-product areas (mirrored by the sample plan)

These areas correspond to the skills a reviewer evaluates in your submitted plan.

  • Care Plan Development
  • Needs Assessment
  • Data Collection
  • Records Review and Records Request
  • File Development
  • Report Preparation and Report Writing

Context and consideration areas

These shape how a plan is built and used in real cases.

  • Vocational Consideration
  • Financial Resources
  • Litigation Support
  • Knowledge Applications

Professional practice areas

These reflect the standards-and-orientation emphasis of the 16-hour training block.

  • International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency knowledge
  • Professional Development
  • Collaboration
  • Information Sharing
  • Marketing

Because weights are unknown, a balanced preparation strategy is the only defensible one. The practice-oriented material at our CLCP practice test site is built to cover all 17 areas rather than overweighting a guessed favorite.

A Qualification Roadmap Built Around the Requirements

Rather than generic study scheduling, sequence your preparation around the gates themselves. This is one possible ordering for a candidate who has the education and experience gates satisfied and still needs training and a sample plan.

Phase 1

Confirm eligibility on paper

  • Verify your degree or license against current ICHCC criteria
  • Document three years of relevant experience inside the prior five
  • Resolve the five-year versus seven-year training lookback question in writing
Phase 2

Complete approved training

  • Secure the 16 hours in methodology, orientation, and standards first
  • Accumulate the remaining approved hours toward 120
  • Keep certificates and approval documentation together
Phase 3

Build and refine the sample plan

  • Draft around Records Review, Needs Assessment, and Care Plan Development
  • Add vocational and financial considerations where relevant
  • Obtain peer review and budget for the $375 review fee if applicable
Phase 4

Apply and prepare for the exam

For a compact reference to keep beside you during the final stretch, the CLCP Cheat Sheet condenses the key facts.

Keeping the Credential: Renewal Requirements

Qualifying is not the end of the requirements story. The credential renews every five years, and renewal requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. The ethics component is a deliberate emphasis: life care planners frequently work in adversarial settings where objectivity and professional conduct are scrutinized.

Renewal RouteFee Listed
Preapproved education$400
Non-preapproved education$450
Renewal by exam$895

These renewal prices are shown in the shop listing, so verify them against ICHCC before you budget. Choosing preapproved education is the cheaper path and also reduces the risk that a credit is questioned later. If you are weighing whether the ongoing investment pays off, see Is the CLCP Certification Worth It? and CLCP Salary Guide 2026 for the earnings side, and CLCP Jobs for where certified planners work.

What to Verify Before You Apply

Several details in the published materials are inconsistent or could not be confirmed. Rather than guessing, resolve these with ICHCC before committing money or time.

  1. Training lookback: Five years on the main page versus seven in the working handbook.
  2. Exam time allowance: 3 hours 20 minutes for online sittings versus a conflicting 3-hour group instruction.
  3. Booking process: Current 2026 scheduling instructions through the delivery platform.
  4. Fee inclusions: Whether proctoring is fully included in the $495 initial application.
  5. Exam policies: Open-book, calculator, and remote-room rules.
  6. Current content outline: The 2026 handbook was not accessible, so confirm the current list of content areas and whether any weighting has since been published.
Document everything: When ICHCC answers one of these questions, save the response. Published pages change, and a dated written answer is your best protection if a requirement is later interpreted differently.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the core requirements to become a Certified Life Care Planner?

Applicants need qualifying healthcare education or credentials, three years of relevant experience within the prior five years, 120 approved training hours including 16 in methodology, orientation, and standards, and a peer-reviewed sample life care plan. Meeting these clears you to sit for the multiple-choice examination.

How much does it cost to apply?

The initial application is $495, a retest is $150, and a sample-plan review is $375 when applicable. No member discount was found, and it is not confirmed whether proctoring is fully included, so confirm before budgeting. See the full cost breakdown for the broader picture.

Do my training hours expire?

There is a lookback limit, but sources disagree: the main page states five years while the older working handbook states seven. Treat five years as the safe assumption and confirm with ICHCC before relying on older hours.

What is the passing score and how many questions are there?

The exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items, with a published cutoff of 79. A current pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Details are in the passing score guide.

How often must the credential be renewed?

Every five years, with 80 education credits or hours required, including 8 in ethics. The shop lists $400 for preapproved renewal, $450 for non-preapproved, and $895 for renewal by exam, but confirm current pricing with ICHCC.

The requirements are demanding by design: they ensure that anyone holding the credential has the clinical foundation, the field experience, the specialized training, and the demonstrated work product to be trusted with decisions that affect injured people and the legal outcomes of their cases. Map your own background against each gate, close the gaps methodically, and verify the unconfirmed details directly with ICHCC before you apply.

Ready to pass your CLCP exam?

Put this into practice with free CLCP questions across every exam domain.