- The Published Cutoff of 79 and What It Means
- What the Number Is Not
- Exam Format Behind the Score
- The 17 Areas You Are Scored Across
- Fees, Retests, and the Cost of Missing 79
- Eligibility Gates That Come Before the Score
- A Score-Driven Study Plan Built Around Unknown Weights
- What Remains Unverified in 2026
- After You Pass: Renewal and Career Value
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The published cutoff for the Certified Life Care Planner exam is 79.
- The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items.
- A retest costs $150, compared with the $495 initial application fee.
- No domain weights are published, so no single content area can be called the largest.
The Published Cutoff of 79 and What It Means
If you are searching for the Certified Life Care Planner passing score, the number to anchor on is 79. That is the published cutoff for the exam administered through the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). It is the one hard figure candidates have, and it is worth understanding precisely rather than guessing at what it implies.
Here is the careful reading. ICHCC publishes a cutoff of 79 for the documented examination of 100 scored multiple-choice questions. What the materials we reviewed do not spell out is whether 79 is a raw count of correct answers, a percentage, or a scaled score. Because the exam is documented as 100 scored items, a raw count of 79 and a percentage of 79 happen to coincide, which is likely why candidates treat the two as interchangeable. If your preparation depends on the distinction, confirm the scoring language with ICHCC directly before test day.
What the Number Is Not
Passing-score articles often drift into speculation. A few clarifications keep your expectations grounded in what is actually documented for the Certified Life Care Planner credential.
- It is not a pass rate. The cutoff tells you how many items you must answer correctly. It says nothing about how many candidates succeed. The current pass rate is not publicly disclosed. For a fuller discussion of what data does and does not exist, see our breakdown of the CLCP pass rate.
- It is not a domain-by-domain threshold. The published materials describe a single cutoff, not a minimum in each content area. We found no documentation of per-domain minimums, so treat the exam as one pooled score.
- It is not a measure of difficulty by itself. A cutoff of 79 sounds demanding, but difficulty also depends on question style, the breadth of 17 content areas, and the applied nature of life care planning. Our guide on how hard the CLCP exam is covers that side of the picture.
Exam Format Behind the Score
Your score only makes sense in the context of the format that produces it. The documented examination looks like this:
| Element | What the documentation shows |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC) |
| Scored items | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Unscored items | Up to 10 field-test questions mixed in |
| Published cutoff | 79 |
| Online time allowance | 3 hours 20 minutes (a conflicting 3-hour group instruction also appears) |
| Administration | Working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam; current 2026 booking instructions unverified |
| Open-book / calculator / remote-room rules | Unverified for current administration |
Two points deserve emphasis. First, the field-test items mean you may see up to 110 questions even though only 100 count toward your result. You will not be told which ones are unscored, so do not waste time trying to guess. Second, the time allowance appears in two versions in the documentation we reviewed. Plan around the shorter 3-hour figure as a conservative assumption, and verify the exact allowance when you book. At roughly 100 to 110 items in about three hours, you have comfortable pacing room if you do not stall on any single question, but case-style items that require careful reading can eat time.
The 17 Areas You Are Scored Across
The 17 listed areas come from the older official working handbook. They represent 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge, and no weights are published. That means there is no honest way to say which area carries the most questions. Anyone claiming a precise percentage breakdown is either guessing or importing numbers from another credential. For a full walkthrough, read our complete guide to all 17 CLCP content areas.
The areas are:
- International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency
- Care Plan Development
- Needs Assessment
- Vocational Consideration
- Litigation Support
- Knowledge Applications
- Marketing
- Information Sharing
- Data Collection
- Report Preparation
- Records Request
- Professional Development
- Report Writing
- Financial Resources
- File Development
- Collaboration
- Records Review
Why unknown weights change how you chase 79
With a single pooled cutoff and no published weights, the safest path to 79 is breadth with depth on the planning core. A weak spot in a small area costs you only a few questions, but you cannot know which areas are small.
- Do not skip "soft" areas like Marketing or Professional Development; they may be only lightly tested, but you cannot confirm that.
- Treat Care Plan Development, Needs Assessment, and Report Writing as the applied heart of the profession and study them most deeply.
- Expect scenario-style thinking: gather records, assess needs, project costs, and write a defensible plan.
Fees, Retests, and the Cost of Missing 79
The passing score has a direct financial dimension. The documented fee structure is:
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Initial application | $495 |
| Retest | $150 |
| Sample-plan review (when applicable) | $375 |
We found no member differential, and we could not confirm whether proctor fees are fully included in these amounts, so budget a margin for that uncertainty. The practical takeaway is that a retest at $150 is far cheaper than a fresh $495 application, but it still costs you time, momentum, and possibly a delay in starting casework. Passing on the first attempt is clearly the efficient outcome. For the complete financial picture, including renewal costs, see our CLCP certification cost breakdown.
Eligibility Gates That Come Before the Score
You cannot earn a passing score until you are approved to sit. The documented eligibility path includes:
- Qualifying healthcare education or credentials
- Three years of relevant experience within the prior five years
- 120 approved training hours, including 16 hours of methodology, orientation, and standards content
- A peer-reviewed sample life care plan
One wrinkle to watch: the main page describes a five-year lookback for training, while the working handbook references seven years. The linked 2026 handbook was inaccessible when we reviewed the materials, so confirm which lookback applies to you before you invest in courses. Our guide to CLCP requirements and eligibility walks through each prerequisite, and our overview of CLCP training explains how the 120 hours fit together.
The 16 hours of methodology, orientation, and standards training is more than a box to check. That content aligns closely with what the exam tests, so treat those hours as your first layer of exam preparation.
A Score-Driven Study Plan Built Around Unknown Weights
Because the weights are unpublished, a sensible plan front-loads the planning workflow and then circles back to supporting areas. This single timeline ties each phase to specific domains and explains why.
Orientation and agency knowledge
- Study the ICHCC agency area and the structure of the credential
- Review Professional Development expectations and ethics themes
- Reason: foundational vocabulary makes every later scenario easier to parse
Records and data pipeline
- Cover Records Request, Records Review, Data Collection, and File Development
- Practice identifying what information a plan needs before it can be built
- Reason: these areas feed every downstream task
The planning core
- Work Needs Assessment, Care Plan Development, and Financial Resources together
- Connect assessed needs to projected items and funding sources
- Reason: this is the applied heart of the profession
Reports, litigation, and collaboration
- Cover Report Preparation, Report Writing, Litigation Support, and Information Sharing
- Add Vocational Consideration, Collaboration, Knowledge Applications, and Marketing
- Reason: defensibility and communication separate a sound plan from a weak one
Full-length timed practice
- Sit 100-question practice sets under a three-hour limit
- Review every miss by domain and revisit weak areas
- Reason: you need to see consistent scores in the high 80s to feel safe against a 79 cutoff
For a broader structure beyond this timeline, our CLCP study guide covers resources and first-attempt strategy, and the CLCP cheat sheet condenses must-know facts into a one-page review. When you are ready to measure yourself against a realistic benchmark, try the practice questions on the main CLCP practice test site.
Key Takeaway
Track your practice scores against the 79 cutoff, but also log which of the 17 areas your misses come from. Because weights are unpublished, a consistent miss pattern in one area is a stronger signal than a single overall percentage.
What Remains Unverified in 2026
Trustworthy preparation means knowing where the documentation runs out. As of our review, the following items could not be confirmed, and you should check them with ICHCC before test day:
- Current booking instructions. The working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam, but 2026 scheduling specifics are unverified. See our CLCP exam dates and scheduling guide for what is known.
- Open-book status, calculator policy, and remote-room rules. None could be verified for the current administration.
- The exact time allowance. A 3 hour 20 minute online allowance and a conflicting 3-hour group instruction both appear.
- The 2026 handbook outline. The linked 2026 handbook was inaccessible, so the 17 areas reflect the older official working handbook.
- Domain weights and question ranges. These are not published, which is why no number appears next to any area in this article.
- The current pass rate. Not publicly disclosed.
These are deliberate gaps, not omissions. Inventing figures to fill them would mislead you and could point your study in the wrong direction.
After You Pass: Renewal and Career Value
Clearing the 79 cutoff is the beginning of a maintenance cycle rather than the end. The credential renews every five years and requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. The listed renewal pricing is $400 for preapproved education and $450 for non-preapproved education, with renewal by examination listed at $895. Keep those figures in mind when you weigh the long-term cost of holding the credential.
Certified Life Care Planners typically work where future care needs must be quantified, including with attorneys, insurers, and rehabilitation or medical-legal practices. If you are weighing whether the investment justifies itself, our analysis of whether the CLCP certification is worth it and the CLCP salary guide examine earnings and return, and our page on CLCP jobs outlines where credentialed planners find work. If you are new to the credential itself, start with what CLCP certification is.
Frequently Asked Questions
The published cutoff is 79. The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions, so 79 is easiest to think of as roughly 79 correct answers, though you should confirm with ICHCC whether the score is reported raw or scaled.
The documented format is 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. You will not be told which items are unscored, so answer every question as if it counts.
The current pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Be cautious of any source quoting a specific figure without citing ICHCC. Our pass rate article explains what is and is not known.
The documented retest fee is $150, compared with a $495 initial application fee. Confirm current fees and whether proctor fees are separate before booking.
No per-area minimums were found in the documentation we reviewed, and no domain weights are published. Treat the exam as a single pooled score against the 79 cutoff, and study all 17 areas.
The takeaway is simple: the number is 79, the format is 100 scored items, and the honest answer to most other scoring questions is that ICHCC has not published the detail. Prepare broadly, practice under timed conditions, and verify the unconfirmed policies directly before you sit.