- What You Are Actually Studying For
- The Exam Format: What Is and Is Not Confirmed
- Clear Eligibility Before You Open a Book
- Fees and Booking Mechanics
- Mapping the 17 Content Areas
- Core Topics to Master Cold
- The Peer-Reviewed Sample Plan Is Part of Your Prep
- An Eight-Week Schedule Built Around the Domains
- Reading the Question Like a Life Care Planner
- After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CLCP exam is administered by ICHCC and documented at 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items.
- The published cutoff is 79, but a current pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so ignore any site quoting one.
- Eligibility includes 120 approved training hours, 16 of them in methodology, orientation and standards, plus a peer-reviewed sample plan.
- Seventeen content areas are listed without published weights, so study broadly rather than betting on one heavy domain.
What You Are Actually Studying For
The Certified Life Care Planner credential is awarded through the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). It is a practice credential for professionals who build forward-looking plans that document the future medical and related needs of people with catastrophic injuries or chronic conditions, along with the projected costs of meeting those needs. That identity matters for your preparation, because the exam does not reward memorized trivia. It rewards the judgment of someone who can gather records, assess needs, collaborate with treating providers, price a plan defensibly, and write a report that survives scrutiny in a legal setting.
If you are still orienting yourself to the credential itself, start with what CLCP certification is and the overview at what a CLCP does, then return here for the preparation plan. This guide assumes you already know why you want the credential and focuses on how to pass.
The Exam Format: What Is and Is Not Confirmed
What the documentation supports
The documented examination consists of 100 scored multiple-choice questions, with up to 10 additional unscored field-test items mixed in. You will not know which items are unscored, so treat every question as if it counts. The published cutoff is 79. For a deeper look at what that number does and does not tell you, see the CLCP passing score breakdown.
The online time allowance is documented as 3 hours and 20 minutes, though a conflicting instruction elsewhere references 3 hours for a group setting. Until you confirm the allowance for your specific sitting, plan your pacing conservatively around the shorter figure. A pace that works in 3 hours will work comfortably in 3 hours and 20 minutes.
What remains unverified
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
| Scored questions | 100 multiple choice (documented) |
| Unscored field-test items | Up to 10 (documented) |
| Published cutoff | 79 (published) |
| Time allowance | 3 hr 20 min online; conflicting 3 hr group instruction |
| Current pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Open-book policy | Unverified |
| Calculator policy | Unverified |
| Current remote-room requirements | Unverified |
| Domain weights | Not published |
Do not assume you may bring references or a calculator. Prepare as though you will rely entirely on what is in your head, and let ICHCC's current candidate instructions tell you otherwise. If you want context on how candidates experience the difficulty, read how hard the CLCP exam is, and for the pass-rate question specifically, what the data actually shows.
Clear Eligibility Before You Open a Book
Many candidates make the mistake of studying for months before confirming they can even sit for the exam. The eligibility structure is layered, and several pieces take real time to assemble. Based on the documentation reviewed, eligibility includes:
- Qualifying healthcare education or credentials
- Three years of relevant experience within the prior five years
- 120 approved training hours, including 16 hours of methodology, orientation and standards
- A peer-reviewed sample life care plan
For the full qualification picture, including how each requirement is typically documented, see CLCP requirements and how to qualify. If you are still sorting out where to earn your approved hours, the overview at CLCP training is a useful starting point. The 16 methodology hours are not filler; they teach the standards of practice the exam leans on, so treat them as exam preparation, not a box to check.
Fees and Booking Mechanics
The fee structure documented for the certification is straightforward. The figures below come from the materials reviewed; confirm them at the time you apply.
| Item | Documented Amount |
|---|---|
| Initial application | $495 |
| Retest | $150 |
| Sample-plan review (when applicable) | $375 |
| Renewal, preapproved credits (shop listing) | $400 |
| Renewal, non-preapproved credits (shop listing) | $450 |
| Renewal by exam (shop listing) | $895 |
No member price differential was found, and it is not confirmed whether proctoring fees are fully included in the application fee. Ask before you pay so you are not surprised by a separate charge. The working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam as the testing vehicle, but current 2026 booking instructions are unverified, so do not rely on a third-party description of how scheduling works. Our guides on the full CLCP cost breakdown and exam dates and scheduling track these details as they are confirmed.
Key Takeaway
The retest fee of $150 is far lower than the initial application, which makes a first attempt lower-stakes financially than it feels. Still, prepare to pass once; the larger cost is the months of delay, not the fee.
Mapping the 17 Content Areas
The seventeen listed areas come from the older working handbook and represent sixteen knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. They are published without weights. That is the single most important fact for your study strategy: no one can credibly tell you which area is largest, and any weighted mock exam built on guessed percentages would mislead you. For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see the complete guide to all 17 content areas.
Rather than rank them by imagined weight, group them by the work they describe. This clustering is a study aid, not an official structure:
| Working Cluster | Listed Areas |
|---|---|
| Gathering the file | Records Request, Records Review, Data Collection, File Development |
| Analyzing the person | Needs Assessment, Vocational Consideration, Knowledge Applications |
| Building the plan | Care Plan Development, Financial Resources, Collaboration |
| Producing the deliverable | Report Preparation, Report Writing, Information Sharing |
| The professional setting | Litigation Support, Marketing, Professional Development, ICHCC agency knowledge |
Core Topics to Master Cold
Records Request, Records Review, Data Collection and File Development
The foundation of every plan is the quality of its underlying file. Expect questions about what to ask for, how to evaluate what you receive, and how to organize it.
- Which records are needed for a given condition and who holds them
- How to spot gaps, inconsistencies or missing treatment history
- What belongs in a well-organized case file and why documentation matters
- How data from interviews supplements, but does not replace, the record
Needs Assessment and Care Plan Development
This is the intellectual center of the credential. A plan must connect each recommended item to a documented need and a supporting source.
- Linking each plan item to a medical basis, ideally a provider recommendation
- Identifying categories of future need over the person's expected course
- Distinguishing a documented need from a speculative one
- Knowing when you must consult a physician or other specialist rather than decide alone
Financial Resources
A life care plan is a cost document as much as a clinical one. Questions here test whether you can source and justify costs responsibly.
- Where credible cost information comes from and how to document it
- How to present costs transparently so a reader can trace each figure
- How frequency, duration and replacement cycles shape totals
Litigation Support and Report Writing
Many plans are used in legal proceedings, so the exam probes your understanding of that environment: objectivity, defensibility, and clear, supportable reports.
- Maintaining objectivity regardless of who retained you
- Writing a report whose every conclusion is traceable to a source
- Understanding your role as a planner versus other expert roles
Vocational Consideration, Collaboration and Information Sharing
Plans rarely exist in isolation. Expect scenario questions about working with other professionals and communicating appropriately.
- How vocational factors interact with a plan
- How to collaborate with treating providers and other experts
- What information may be shared, with whom, and under what conditions
Agency Knowledge, Professional Development and Marketing
The ICHCC agency area and professional-practice topics are easy to underestimate because they feel administrative. They are also the most memorizable, so they are worth securing early.
- ICHCC's role, standards and certification processes
- Ethical obligations in how you present yourself and your services
- Ongoing education expectations that sustain the credential
For a quick-reference companion to this material, the one-page CLCP cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts, and the main practice test site lets you check recall against realistic questions.
The Peer-Reviewed Sample Plan Is Part of Your Prep
The sample life care plan requirement is easy to treat as a separate hurdle from the exam, but the two reinforce each other. Building a complete plan forces you to practice nearly every content area in sequence: requesting and reviewing records, assessing needs, developing the plan, pricing it, and writing it up. Candidates who have done this work carefully tend to find scenario questions more intuitive, because they have already made the same decisions in practice.
A sample-plan review fee of $375 applies when relevant, and peer review means someone qualified will critique your reasoning. Use that feedback. The weaknesses a reviewer points out in your plan are very likely the same weaknesses that would cost you points on exam scenarios.
An Eight-Week Schedule Built Around the Domains
Because weights are unpublished, this schedule gives every cluster real attention and front-loads the areas that everything else depends on. It is a template; compress or extend it to match your training hours and work schedule. Whatever length you choose, finish a full pass of the content before you begin timed practice, and space repeat reviews of weaker areas rather than cramming them at the end.
Gathering the file
- Study Records Request, Records Review, Data Collection and File Development together
- Do these first because every later topic assumes a well-built file
- Reread your methodology and standards training notes
Needs and plan development
- Work through Needs Assessment, Knowledge Applications and Care Plan Development
- Practice tracing each plan item to a documented need
- Add Vocational Consideration once the core assessment logic is solid
Costs and collaboration
- Cover Financial Resources and Collaboration
- Rebuild a few cost entries from scratch, citing a source for each
Reports and legal setting
- Study Report Preparation, Report Writing, Information Sharing and Litigation Support
- Review your own sample plan critically against the standards
Agency and professional practice
- Lock down ICHCC agency knowledge, Professional Development and Marketing
- These are high-recall topics, so finish them with a fast review
Timed mixed practice
- Sit full-length mixed sessions at a pace that fits a 3-hour limit
- Return to any cluster where you keep missing scenario questions
- Confirm current booking and testing rules before exam day
Because no weighted outline has been published, avoid any practice resource that claims to match official domain percentages. Use the practice questions to test understanding across all clusters rather than to chase a score model that cannot be verified.
Reading the Question Like a Life Care Planner
With a 79 cutoff on 100 scored items, there is limited room to guess, so how you read a question matters as much as what you know. Most scenario items hinge on a small number of professional principles. Keep these in mind as you read each stem:
- Documentation drives everything. The best answer is usually the one that ties a conclusion to a record, a provider recommendation or a cited source, not to personal opinion.
- Objectivity beats advocacy. When a question hints at pressure from a retaining party, the defensible answer preserves your independence.
- Know the limits of your role. If a clinical judgment exceeds your scope, the correct move is usually to consult the appropriate professional.
- Transparency in costs. Answers that make figures traceable and reproducible tend to beat those that lump or estimate loosely.
- Process before product. Collecting and reviewing the file thoroughly precedes writing, and options that skip steps are usually traps.
Remember that up to 10 items are unscored field-test questions. If a question seems oddly worded or outside the standard framework, do not let it rattle you; it may not count. Answer it as best you can and move on. Manage your time so you are never forced to rush the final stretch; marking a hard item and returning to it beats spending several minutes on a single question.
Key Takeaway
When two answers both seem reasonable, choose the one that is more documented, more objective and more clearly within the planner's scope of practice. That filter resolves a large share of scenario questions.
After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context
Certification runs on a five-year renewal cycle requiring 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. The shop pricing reviewed lists renewal at $400 with preapproved credits or $450 with non-preapproved credits, and $895 for renewal by examination. Planning your continuing education from the start spares you a scramble in year five.
Employment generally comes from work where future-care planning is valued, including independent practice serving attorneys and others who need defensible plans, and roles within healthcare and rehabilitation settings. Specific salary figures are not established in the materials used here, so look to the CLCP salary guide and CLCP job listings for current context, and weigh the investment using the worth-it ROI analysis. A quick refresher on terminology is available at what CLCP stands for if you are explaining the credential to colleagues or clients.
Frequently Asked Questions
The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. You will not know which items are unscored, so answer every question carefully.
The published cutoff is 79. A current pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so be cautious about any source that quotes one. See the dedicated passing-score guide for more detail.
That cannot be determined. The seventeen listed areas come from an older working handbook and carry no published weights, so a balanced study plan across all areas is the safest approach.
Open-book and calculator policies are unverified in the sources reviewed. Prepare as though neither is permitted, and confirm the current rules in ICHCC's candidate instructions before your sitting.
A retest is documented at $150, considerably less than the $495 initial application. Review the areas where you struggled, tighten your approach to scenario questions, and confirm current retake rules with ICHCC.