- What the 17 Areas Actually Are
- Where the List Comes From (and What Is Unverified)
- Exam Format and Registration Facts That Frame the Domains
- Cluster 1: Assessment and Planning Core
- Cluster 2: Records, Files and Data
- Cluster 3: Reports, Sharing and Litigation
- Cluster 4: Practice Management and Professional Standing
- Why You Cannot Rank the Domains by Weight
- Sequencing Your Review Around the Domains
- Domains and Eligibility: How They Connect
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Life Care Planner exam lists 17 content areas: 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge.
- No domain weights are published, so no single area can honestly be labeled "largest."
- The exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items; the published cutoff is 79.
- The 17-area list comes from the older official working handbook; the 2026 handbook link was inaccessible.
What the 17 Areas Actually Are
The Certified Life Care Planner credential is administered through the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). Its examination content is organized into 17 listed areas. Per the older official working handbook, those break down as 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. That distinction matters: the first domain on the list is not a clinical topic at all. It is knowledge of the certifying agency itself, meaning how the International Commission on Health Care Certification operates, what it requires, and what it expects of certificants.
The remaining 16 areas describe the actual work of a life care planner: assessing needs, building a plan, handling records, writing reports, supporting litigation, and sustaining a professional practice. If you want the broader context first, see What Is CLCP Certification? and CLCP Certification. For how this fits into the full exam picture, pair this guide with the CLCP Study Guide 2026.
| # | Content Area | Published Weight |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency | Not publicly disclosed |
| 2 | Care Plan Development | Not publicly disclosed |
| 3 | Needs Assessment | Not publicly disclosed |
| 4 | Vocational Consideration | Not publicly disclosed |
| 5 | Litigation Support | Not publicly disclosed |
| 6 | Knowledge Applications | Not publicly disclosed |
| 7 | Marketing | Not publicly disclosed |
| 8 | Information Sharing | Not publicly disclosed |
| 9 | Data Collection | Not publicly disclosed |
| 10 | Report Preparation | Not publicly disclosed |
| 11 | Records Request | Not publicly disclosed |
| 12 | Professional Development | Not publicly disclosed |
| 13 | Report Writing | Not publicly disclosed |
| 14 | Financial Resources | Not publicly disclosed |
| 15 | File Development | Not publicly disclosed |
| 16 | Collaboration | Not publicly disclosed |
| 17 | Records Review | Not publicly disclosed |
Where the List Comes From (and What Is Unverified)
Transparency matters here, because exam content outlines change. The 17 areas above come from the older official working handbook. The linked 2026 handbook was inaccessible when this guide was prepared, so we cannot confirm that the current outline matches the older one word for word. Treat the list as the best documented outline, and verify it against the current ICHCC handbook before you build a final study plan.
Exam Format and Registration Facts That Frame the Domains
Understanding the container helps you study the content. The documented examination consists of 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. You will not know which items are unscored, so treat every question as if it counts. The published cutoff is 79. For the nuances of that number, see CLCP Passing Score 2026.
- Time: The online allowance is 3 hours 20 minutes, though a conflicting instruction elsewhere says 3 hours for group administration. Confirm which applies to your sitting.
- Delivery: The readable working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam, but current 2026 booking instructions are unverified. Check CLCP Exam Dates 2026 for scheduling context.
- Fees: Initial application is $495, a retest is $150, and a sample-plan review is $375 when applicable. No member differential was found, and whether proctor fees are fully included is not confirmed. The full picture is in CLCP Certification Cost 2026.
- Pass rate: The current pass rate is not publicly disclosed. See CLCP Pass Rate 2026 for what can and cannot be said.
With 100 scored questions spread across 17 areas, you will see a mix of scenario-style items and recall items. Because question counts per domain are not published, plan to be competent across all 17 rather than gambling on a favored few. For a sense of how demanding that breadth is, read How Hard Is the CLCP Exam?
Cluster 1: Assessment and Planning Core
Four areas form the intellectual center of life care planning: Needs Assessment, Care Plan Development, Vocational Consideration, and Knowledge Applications. These are where a planner converts a person's medical and functional picture into a defensible, itemized plan of future care.
Needs Assessment
Candidates must understand how to identify the current and projected needs of a person with a catastrophic injury or chronic condition.
- Distinguishing documented needs from assumed ones
- Tying each need to a source, such as a treating provider's recommendation
- Recognizing when a need requires a medical opinion you cannot supply yourself
Care Plan Development
This is the construction phase: turning assessed needs into a structured plan with items, frequencies, durations, and costs.
- Organizing a plan by category of need
- Establishing a reasonable basis for each recommendation
- Keeping the plan consistent with the underlying records
Vocational Consideration
Life care planning does not stop at medical care. Candidates should understand how work capacity and vocational factors relate to the plan and where the boundaries of a planner's role lie.
- Recognizing when vocational input is relevant
- Knowing when to coordinate with, rather than replace, other professionals
Knowledge Applications
Expect questions that ask you to apply core knowledge to a described situation rather than recite a definition. Practice reading a scenario and identifying which principle governs it.
Cluster 2: Records, Files and Data
Five areas deal with the raw material of a plan: Data Collection, Records Request, Records Review, File Development, and Information Sharing. Candidates often underestimate this cluster because it feels administrative, yet a plan is only as defensible as the record behind it.
- Records Request: Know what to ask for, from whom, and how to document the request. Gaps in the record are a planning problem, not just a clerical one.
- Records Review: Understand how to read medical, therapy, and other records critically and extract what supports each plan item.
- Data Collection: Think interviews, assessments, and information gathered beyond the documents themselves.
- File Development: Maintaining an organized, complete file that can withstand scrutiny later.
- Information Sharing: Know who may receive what, and the confidentiality and ethics questions that come with sharing client information.
Cluster 3: Reports, Sharing and Litigation
Three areas cover the output: Report Preparation, Report Writing, and Litigation Support. The two report areas are listed separately in the outline, so expect the exam to approach the planning of a report and the actual writing of it as distinct competencies.
Report Preparation vs. Report Writing
Preparation is about gathering, organizing, and structuring what goes into the report. Writing is about expressing it clearly, consistently, and in a way that stands up to review.
- Preparation: outlining, confirming sources, resolving inconsistencies before drafting
- Writing: clarity, consistency between narrative and cost items, appropriate qualification of opinions
Litigation Support
Many life care plans are used in legal settings. Candidates should understand the planner's role in supporting a case, the importance of objectivity, and how a plan may be examined by opposing parties.
- Maintaining an objective, evidence-based posture
- Understanding that every statement in the plan may be challenged
- Knowing the limits of your professional opinion
The peer-reviewed sample life care plan required for eligibility is the practical counterpart of this cluster. If you have written one, you have already rehearsed much of what these areas test. See CLCP Requirements 2026 for how the sample plan fits into qualification.
Cluster 4: Practice Management and Professional Standing
The remaining areas cover the professional wrapper: Agency knowledge, Marketing, Professional Development, Financial Resources, and Collaboration.
- International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency: Know the certifying body, its role, and the standards it sets. This is a memorization-friendly area, and an efficient place to secure points.
- Marketing: Expect questions on how a planner can ethically represent services and credentials. Think accuracy and professionalism over salesmanship.
- Professional Development: Ties to ongoing education. Renewal is every five years and requires 80 education credits/hours including 8 in ethics. Renewal pricing listed by the shop is $400 preapproved or $450 non-preapproved, with $895 for renewal by exam.
- Financial Resources: Understanding funding sources and how they relate to the costs in a plan.
- Collaboration: Working with physicians, therapists, attorneys, case managers, and families without overstepping your role.
Key Takeaway
The agency-knowledge area is the most "closed-book friendly" content on the outline. Learn the certifying body's structure and requirements cold, and treat it as banked points before you tackle the judgment-heavy planning areas.
Why You Cannot Rank the Domains by Weight
Most exam guides will tell you which domain "counts most." For this credential, that claim cannot be made honestly. The 17 areas carry no published weights, and the question range per area is not disclosed either. No largest-weight area can be identified.
That has a practical consequence. Any study resource that assigns percentages to these 17 areas is inventing them. The responsible approach is to cover every area to a working level, then deepen the ones where your professional background is thinnest. A nurse may be strong on clinical needs but weak on litigation support; a rehabilitation counselor may be strong on vocational factors but weak on medical records interpretation. Your personal gap map beats any imagined weighting.
Sequencing Your Review Around the Domains
Rather than a generic schedule, order your review by how the areas depend on one another. Records feed the assessment, the assessment feeds the plan, and the plan feeds the report. Studying in that order mirrors how the work flows.
Agency and Records Foundations
- Agency knowledge (bank the memorization-friendly points first)
- Records Request, Records Review, Data Collection
Assessment and Plan Construction
- Needs Assessment and Care Plan Development
- Vocational Consideration and Knowledge Applications
Reports, Litigation and Sharing
- Report Preparation and Report Writing
- Litigation Support, Information Sharing, File Development
Practice Wrapper and Full-Length Practice
- Marketing, Professional Development, Financial Resources, Collaboration
- Timed sets mixing all 17 areas against the 100-question format
Adjust the order if your background points elsewhere. For a broader preparation framework, see the CLCP Study Guide, and keep the CLCP Cheat Sheet handy for last-week review.
Domains and Eligibility: How They Connect
The eligibility requirements are not separate from the content areas; they are how the credential ensures you have already practiced many of them. Candidates need qualifying healthcare education or credentials, three years of relevant experience in the prior five, 120 approved training hours including 16 hours of methodology, orientation, and standards, and a peer-reviewed sample life care plan. One wrinkle: the main-page training lookback is five years, while the working handbook says seven. Confirm which applies to you before counting hours.
Those 16 methodology, orientation, and standards hours map directly onto the planning, records, and report areas, so revisit your training notes as study material. More on training options is in CLCP Training, and if you are weighing the investment, see Is the CLCP Certification Worth It?, CLCP Salary Guide 2026, and CLCP Jobs for the career side. For a quick recap of all 17 areas anytime, you can return to this CLCP exam domains guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
The older official working handbook lists 17 areas, made up of 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. The 2026 handbook link was inaccessible, so confirm the current outline with ICHCC.
No weights are publicly disclosed for any of the 17 areas, so no largest-weight domain can be identified. Study all areas and use your own background to find your weakest ones.
The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items, with a published cutoff of 79. Online time is listed as 3 hours 20 minutes, though a conflicting 3-hour instruction exists.
Open-book, calculator, and current remote-room policies are unverified in our sources. Check the current ICHCC handbook and your booking confirmation before test day rather than assuming.
The initial application is $495, a retest is $150, and a sample-plan review is $375 when applicable. Whether proctor fees are fully included is not confirmed, so verify the total at booking.
The domains reward breadth, careful record handling, and defensible plan construction. Build your preparation around the four clusters above, verify the current outline with ICHCC, and test your readiness with timed practice on the CLCP Exam Prep practice tests.