CLCP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CLCP Certification?

TL;DR
  • CLCP here means Certified Life Care Planner, issued through the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC).
  • The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items; the published cutoff is 79.
  • Eligibility requires 120 approved training hours, including 16 methodology, orientation and standards hours, plus a peer-reviewed sample life care plan.
  • Initial application is $495, retest $150, and sample-plan review $375 when applicable.

What the Certified Life Care Planner Credential Actually Is

A Certified Life Care Planner is a professional who prepares a structured, evidence-supported projection of the future care needs and costs of a person with a catastrophic injury or chronic illness. The credential signals that the holder has met defined education, experience and methodology standards, passed a standardized examination, and demonstrated the ability to produce a real life care plan that survived peer review.

That last element is what separates this credential from many healthcare certifications. You are not only answering multiple-choice questions about theory. You must also submit a sample plan that reviewers assess. In practice, the certification tests two things at once: whether you know the standards of the field, and whether you can apply them to a complete case.

If you are brand new to the acronym, the companion explainers on what CLCP stands for and what a CLCP is cover the terminology. This article focuses on how the certification works as a credentialing pathway.

Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered

The credential is administered by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). The readable working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam as the examination delivery vendor. However, current 2026 booking instructions could not be verified, so treat any specific scheduling steps you read elsewhere with caution and confirm directly with ICHCC before you commit to a date.

Two practical points follow from this:

  • Verify the delivery mode. The documented online time allowance is 3 hours 20 minutes, while one group instruction conflicts with that figure at 3 hours. Ask which applies to your sitting.
  • Do not assume testing windows. For a deeper look at scheduling questions, see CLCP exam dates and deadlines.
Why the handbook version matters: The linked 2026 handbook was inaccessible when this article was prepared, so the content outline described below comes from the older official working handbook. Always download the newest handbook from ICHCC and compare it against the areas listed here before building a study plan.

Eligibility: The Four Gates to Clear Before You Apply

Eligibility is front-loaded. Many candidates lose months because they started studying before confirming they qualified. The documented requirements fall into four gates:

  1. Qualifying healthcare education or credentials. Your professional background must fit what ICHCC accepts.
  2. Relevant experience. Three years of relevant experience within the prior five years.
  3. Approved training. 120 approved training hours, of which 16 must cover methodology, orientation and standards.
  4. A peer-reviewed sample life care plan. This is a full work product, not a summary.

The Training Lookback Discrepancy

Sources disagree on how far back your training hours may reach.

  • The main ICHCC page cites a five-year lookback for training.
  • The working handbook cites seven years.
  • Until you confirm which applies, count only hours that would satisfy the stricter five-year window.

For a fuller walk-through of each gate, read CLCP requirements and how to qualify, and see CLCP training for how approved hours are typically earned.

Exam Format: What the Documented Details Say

ElementDocumented Detail
Question typeMultiple choice
Scored items100
Unscored field-test itemsUp to 10
Online time allowance3 hours 20 minutes (one group instruction conflicts, stating 3 hours)
Published cutoff79
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Open-book / calculator / remote-room policyUnverified

The unscored field-test items are worth understanding. You cannot tell which questions are scored and which are being piloted, so every item deserves your full effort. Spending extra time hunting for the "experimental" questions is a trap.

On scoring, the published cutoff is 79. How that cutoff maps to a percentage or scaled score is something to confirm with ICHCC rather than assume; our page on the CLCP passing score tracks what is and is not documented. Likewise, no pass rate is publicly disclosed, which is why you should be skeptical of any figure you see quoted. Our CLCP pass rate analysis explains the limits of the available data.

The 17 Content Areas Candidates Must Master

The older official working handbook lists 17 areas, representing 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. No weights are published, which means no single area can be identified as the largest. Study all of them. The areas as listed:

Foundations and Structure

Where the credential and the profession are framed.

  • International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency: the certifying body, its standards, and how the credential is governed.
  • Professional Development: continuing competence, ethics and maintaining standing in the field.
  • Collaboration: working with physicians, therapists, attorneys, case managers and families.

Information Gathering

Everything that happens before a single cost is projected.

  • Records Request: knowing what to ask for, from whom, and how to document the request.
  • Records Review: extracting care-relevant facts from medical and other records.
  • Data Collection: gathering interview, clinical and pricing information systematically.
  • File Development: organizing the case file so conclusions are traceable.
  • Information Sharing: understanding what may be shared, with whom, and under what constraints.

Analysis and Planning

The analytical heart of the work.

  • Needs Assessment: identifying present and projected care, equipment, medication, therapy and environmental needs.
  • Care Plan Development: turning assessed needs into itemized, supportable plan components.
  • Vocational Consideration: recognizing how work capacity affects the plan.
  • Financial Resources: understanding funding sources and cost sourcing.
  • Knowledge Applications: applying methodology and standards to specific scenarios.

Output and Practice Context

How the work product reaches its audience.

  • Report Preparation and Report Writing: structuring, drafting and defending a written plan.
  • Litigation Support: understanding the role of the plan in legal proceedings and the planner's obligations when serving as a resource or witness.
  • Marketing: ethical presentation of services and credentials.

Notice that Report Preparation and Report Writing appear as separate areas. Expect questions to probe both the process of assembling a deliverable and the standards for how it is written. For a section-by-section breakdown, see the CLCP exam domains guide.

Key Takeaway

Because weights are unpublished, resist the urge to "specialize" your studying. Distribute your time across all 17 areas, then use practice questions to find your own weak spots. A CLCP practice test gives you that diagnostic without guessing at weights.

Fees, Renewal and the Cost Mechanics

ItemDocumented Amount
Initial application$495
Retest$150
Sample-plan review (when applicable)$375
Renewal, preapproved education$400
Renewal, non-preapproved education$450
Renewal by exam$895

No member differential was found, and it is not confirmed whether the application fee fully includes proctoring fees. Budget conservatively: ask ICHCC whether any vendor or proctor charge is separate before you pay. The larger spend is usually the 120 approved training hours, which are not part of the fee table above. Our CLCP certification cost breakdown covers how to total the real expense.

Renewal Is a Five-Year Cycle

Certification renews every five years. The documented requirement is 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. You may renew with education (priced at $400 if preapproved, $450 if not) or by retaking the exam at $895. Planning continuing education from year one is far cheaper than scrambling in year five.

Where Certified Life Care Planners Work

Life care planning sits where healthcare, insurance and law intersect. Certified planners are commonly found in these settings:

  • Independent consulting practices retained by plaintiff or defense attorneys in personal injury and medical malpractice matters.
  • Rehabilitation and case management firms that offer planning as a service line.
  • Insurance and claims organizations evaluating long-term exposure on catastrophic claims.
  • Healthcare systems and rehabilitation programs where planners support discharge and long-term care projection.
  • Special needs and settlement planning contexts where future care funding must be quantified.

Because the profession draws on prior clinical credentials, many planners are nurses, therapists, rehabilitation counselors or case managers who add the certification to an existing license. For role-level detail, see CLCP jobs, and for earnings context see the CLCP salary guide. We deliberately avoid quoting income figures here because reliable, credential-specific numbers are not publicly established.

What Is Not Publicly Confirmed (and How to Plan Around It)

Open items to verify directly with ICHCC: current 2026 booking steps, the controlling exam time (3 hours 20 minutes versus 3 hours), open-book and calculator policy, remote-room rules, the five- versus seven-year training lookback, and whether proctoring is bundled into the application fee. None of these should be assumed.

Responsible preparation treats these as questions to resolve in writing. Save the replies. If a policy answer changes your plan, for example whether a calculator is permitted, you want the answer on record. Also note that this site is holding publication of any weighted mock exam until the current content outline is confirmed, because inventing weights would mislead you.

Whether the credential justifies the time and money is a separate judgment, covered in is the CLCP certification worth it. And if you want a sense of the effort involved, see how hard the CLCP exam is.

A Domain-Sequenced Preparation Plan

Since the sample plan is a prerequisite and the 17 areas run from agency knowledge to report writing, sequence your study to mirror the lifecycle of a real case. This ordering is a suggestion, not an official blueprint:

Weeks 1-2

Frame the Profession

  • Agency knowledge and the certifying body's standards
  • Professional Development and ethics, since ethics also drives renewal
  • Collaboration roles and boundaries
Weeks 3-5

Build the Case File

  • Records Request, Records Review, Data Collection
  • File Development and Information Sharing constraints
  • Practice extracting needs from sample records
Weeks 6-8

Assess and Plan

  • Needs Assessment and Care Plan Development
  • Vocational Consideration and Financial Resources
  • Knowledge Applications through scenario questions
Weeks 9-10

Deliver and Defend

  • Report Preparation and Report Writing
  • Litigation Support and Marketing ethics
  • Full-length timed practice against the 3 hour 20 minute allowance

This ordering works because later areas depend on earlier ones: you cannot write a defensible report without a clean file, and you cannot build a file without proper records requests. For tools to support the plan, see the CLCP study guide, the one-page CLCP cheat sheet, and the CLCP Exam Prep practice questions for timed drilling.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CLCP certification mean?

It means Certified Life Care Planner, a credential administered through the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC) showing that you have met education, experience and training standards, passed the exam, and submitted a peer-reviewed sample life care plan.

How many questions are on the exam?

The documented format is 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. You will not be told which items are unscored.

What is the passing score?

The published cutoff is 79. Confirm with ICHCC how that figure is applied to your result, since the current pass rate is not publicly disclosed.

How often must the certification be renewed?

Every five years. Renewal requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics, or you may renew by retaking the exam.

Which exam content area is weighted most heavily?

That cannot be determined. The 17 content areas are listed without published weights, so prepare across all of them rather than betting on one.

Ready to pass your CLCP exam?

Put this into practice with free CLCP questions across every exam domain.