- What a CLCP Actually Is
- What a Certified Life Care Planner Does All Day
- Who Certifies the Credential
- Who Hires and Uses Life Care Planners
- Eligibility: The Gate Before the Exam
- What the Exam Looks Like
- The 17 Knowledge Areas, Grouped by Workflow
- Fees, Retakes, and Renewal
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Is the Credential a Fit for You?
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CLCP means Certified Life Care Planner, a credential for professionals who project lifetime care needs and costs after catastrophic injury or illness.
- The certifying body is the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC).
- The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions, plus up to 10 unscored field-test items, with a published cutoff of 79.
- Eligibility requires 120 approved training hours, three years of relevant experience in the prior five, and a peer-reviewed sample life care plan.
What a CLCP Actually Is
A CLCP is a Certified Life Care Planner: a professional who has met the certification standards of the International Commission on Health Care Certification and is recognized to prepare life care plans. A life care plan is a structured, evidence-based document that identifies the medical, rehabilitative, equipment, home, vocational, and support needs of a person with a catastrophic injury or chronic illness, and then attaches defensible costs to those needs over the person's expected lifetime.
The acronym is shared by other, unrelated credentials in other industries, so searching it without context can send you down the wrong path. On this site, CLCP always refers to the life care planning credential and nothing else. If you want a quick orientation on the terminology itself, the pages on what CLCP stands for and the meaning of CLCP cover the naming question directly, while this article focuses on the profession, the credential, and what the exam expects of you.
What a Certified Life Care Planner Does All Day
The work is part clinician, part analyst, part report writer. A typical engagement follows a repeatable arc, and the exam's content areas map onto that arc closely.
- Intake and file development. You receive a referral, open a file, and clarify the scope of the assignment and who is retaining you.
- Records request and records review. You obtain medical, therapy, educational, vocational, and financial records, then read them for diagnoses, prognosis, treatment history, and gaps.
- Data collection. You interview the individual and family, consult treating providers, and gather information about current function and anticipated change.
- Needs assessment. You determine what the person needs now and is likely to need later, such as therapies, medications, attendant care, durable medical equipment, home modification, transportation, and future medical care.
- Care plan development. You organize those needs into categories, justify each with a medical or professional basis, and assign frequency, duration, and cost.
- Report preparation and writing. You produce a clear, supportable written plan.
- Information sharing and collaboration. You communicate findings and work with physicians, attorneys, case managers, and other professionals.
- Litigation support. When the plan is used in a legal setting, you may be asked to explain methodology, defend assumptions, or testify.
Notice how many of the exam's listed areas are process steps rather than diagnoses. Candidates who come from a strong clinical background sometimes underestimate this. Knowing a spinal cord injury well is necessary, but knowing how to document a recommendation so it survives cross-examination is part of the credential too.
Who Certifies the Credential
The credential is administered by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). Interestingly, ICHCC and its agency knowledge appear as one of the listed content areas, so candidates are expected to understand the certifying body itself, including its role, standards, and expectations for certificants.
According to the readable working handbook, testing is delivered through Prov/ProExam. However, current 2026 booking instructions have not been verified, and the linked 2026 handbook was not accessible when this article was prepared. That means some operational details, such as remote-room rules, whether the exam is open-book, and calculator policy, should be confirmed directly with ICHCC before you commit to a plan. We flag these as unverified rather than guessing.
Who Hires and Uses Life Care Planners
Life care planners work in a handful of recognizable settings. The credential is not tied to a single employer type, which is part of its appeal and also a reason to think carefully about the path you want.
- Independent consulting practices. Many planners work for themselves or in small firms, taking referrals from attorneys on both sides of injury litigation.
- Law firms and legal service companies. Plaintiff and defense attorneys retain planners to quantify future care needs in personal injury, medical malpractice, and similar matters.
- Insurance and claims organizations. Carriers and administrators use life care planning to evaluate exposure and structure settlements.
- Rehabilitation and case management companies. Nurse and rehabilitation case managers often add life care planning as a service line.
- Healthcare systems and trust or settlement administrators. Planning can support long-term funding and care coordination for injured individuals.
Earnings vary widely by setting and by whether you are salaried or building an independent practice, so we avoid quoting a single figure here. For a fuller discussion, see the CLCP salary guide, and for the job landscape see the overview of CLCP jobs.
Eligibility: The Gate Before the Exam
Unlike many credentials where you simply register and sit, the CLCP requires you to qualify first. Based on the documented requirements, applicants generally need the following.
- Qualifying healthcare education or credentials. Your background must fall within the categories ICHCC recognizes.
- Three years of relevant experience within the prior five years. This is a recency requirement, not just a total-years requirement.
- 120 approved training hours. Of these, 16 must cover methodology, orientation, and standards. That 16-hour block is the part most directly tied to how life care plans are built.
- A peer-reviewed sample life care plan. You submit a plan you have prepared, and it is reviewed against the profession's expectations.
One detail deserves caution. The main program page references a five-year lookback for training, while the older working handbook references seven years. Because the current handbook could not be accessed, treat the more conservative window as your planning assumption until ICHCC confirms which applies. Our CLCP requirements guide goes deeper on qualifying, and the page on CLCP training explains how the approved-hours requirement fits together.
Key Takeaway
Start the sample life care plan early. It is a real work product that gets peer review, and it is the part of the application most likely to take longer than candidates expect. Treat it as a project with its own timeline rather than a form to complete the week you apply.
What the Exam Looks Like
The documented examination consists of 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. The field-test items are experimental questions mixed in for future exam development; you will not know which ones they are, so answer everything with equal care.
| Exam Feature | What the Documentation Shows |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC) |
| Delivery vendor | Prov/ProExam per working handbook; current 2026 booking instructions unverified |
| Scored questions | 100 multiple-choice |
| Unscored items | Up to 10 field-test questions |
| Time (online) | 3 hours 20 minutes in one source; 3 hours in a conflicting group instruction |
| Published cutoff | 79 |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Open-book / calculator policy | Unverified |
The published cutoff of 79 is the figure to anchor on, but the documentation does not explain how that number is applied, so check how ICHCC reports results. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, and any site claiming a specific one is not working from published data. Our pages on the CLCP passing score and the CLCP pass rate lay out what is and is not known.
Because the items are multiple-choice and the content areas are heavily process-oriented, expect scenario-style questions: a case summary, a set of facts, and a request to identify the best next step, the most defensible recommendation, or the most appropriate source of information. For a calibrated view of difficulty, see how hard the CLCP exam is.
The 17 Knowledge Areas, Grouped by Workflow
The seventeen listed areas come from the older official working handbook and represent sixteen knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. No weights are published, so it is not possible to say which area carries the most questions. Rather than guess, it is more useful to organize the areas the way a planner actually works. The full list is also covered in the CLCP exam domains guide.
The Certifying Body and the Profession
Understand who sets the standards you are held to.
- International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency: the agency's role, standards, and expectations for certificants.
- Professional Development: ongoing education, ethics, and maintaining competence in a field that changes with medicine and law.
- Marketing: how planners represent services appropriately and ethically.
Intake and Information Gathering
The front end of every engagement.
- File Development: opening and organizing a case file.
- Records Request: knowing what to ask for and from whom.
- Records Review: extracting diagnoses, prognosis, treatment history, and gaps.
- Data Collection: interviews, provider consultation, and gathering current-status information.
Analysis and Plan Building
The analytical core of the profession.
- Needs Assessment: identifying present and anticipated care needs.
- Care Plan Development: structuring recommendations with a justified basis.
- Vocational Consideration: how the injury affects work capacity and earning-related issues.
- Financial Resources: costs, funding sources, and how pricing is supported.
- Knowledge Applications: applying clinical and methodological knowledge to specific cases.
Communication and Output
Where the work product meets its audience.
- Report Preparation and Report Writing: producing a clear, supportable document.
- Information Sharing: communicating findings appropriately.
- Collaboration: working with physicians, attorneys, and other professionals.
- Litigation Support: methodology, assumptions, and testimony.
Fees, Retakes, and Renewal
The documented figures break down as follows.
| Item | Documented Amount |
|---|---|
| Initial application | $495 |
| Retest | $150 |
| Sample-plan review (when applicable) | $375 |
| Renewal, preapproved education | $400 |
| Renewal, non-preapproved education | $450 |
| Renewal by exam | $895 |
No member price differential was found, and it has not been confirmed whether proctor fees are fully included in the application fee, so budget a small cushion and ask before you pay. Your total cost will also depend on your training hours, which are a separate expense. The CLCP certification cost breakdown walks through how these pieces add up.
Staying Certified
The credential renews on a five-year cycle. Renewal requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. You can renew with preapproved or non-preapproved education at the fees above, or choose renewal by examination. The ethics requirement is a reminder that the profession operates in adversarial, high-stakes settings where objectivity matters.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because the content areas follow the workflow of a real case, a workflow-ordered plan makes sense. The example below assumes you have already cleared eligibility and are preparing for the exam itself. Adjust the pacing to your own calendar, and see the CLCP study guide for a longer treatment.
Profession and Agency
- Review ICHCC's role, standards, and certificant expectations
- Cover Professional Development, ethics, and Marketing
Intake and Gathering
- File Development, Records Request, Records Review
- Data Collection methods and sources
Assessment and Plan Building
- Needs Assessment and Care Plan Development
- Vocational Consideration and Financial Resources
Output and Legal Context
- Report Preparation, Report Writing, Information Sharing
- Collaboration and Litigation Support
- Timed practice across all areas
Spend your final days on mixed practice rather than rereading, since the real exam interleaves areas. The CLCP practice test is built for that kind of mixed, scenario-based review. Hold off on treating any mock score as a prediction of your result, since no weighted blueprint has been published.
Is the Credential a Fit for You?
The CLCP tends to suit licensed clinicians, rehabilitation professionals, and case managers who want to move into forensic or planning work, as well as those already doing it informally and seeking a recognized credential. It is a poorer fit if you want a short, low-effort add-on. Between the training hours, the experience requirement, and the sample plan, you are making a real investment before you ever sit for the test.
Whether that investment pays off depends on your market, your referral network, and whether you plan to work independently or inside an organization. The analysis in is the CLCP certification worth it weighs these factors, and the broader CLCP certification overview ties the pieces together. If you are still deciding, the main practice test site lets you gauge how the question style feels before you commit.
Key Takeaway
A CLCP is defined less by one body of medical knowledge than by a repeatable professional process: gather records, assess needs, build a justified plan, and communicate it defensibly. Study the exam the way you would work a case, from intake to report to testimony.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site, CLCP stands for Certified Life Care Planner, a credential administered by the International Commission on Health Care Certification. The same letters are used by unrelated credentials elsewhere, so always confirm the context.
The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. You cannot tell which items are unscored, so treat every question as if it counts.
The published cutoff is 79. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so be cautious of any source that quotes a specific percentage. Confirm how ICHCC reports scores when you apply.
Yes. Eligibility includes qualifying healthcare education or credentials, three years of relevant experience in the prior five, 120 approved training hours with 16 on methodology, orientation, and standards, and a peer-reviewed sample life care plan.
Certification renews every five years. Renewal requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics, or you can renew by examination. Fees depend on whether your education is preapproved.