CLCP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CLCP?

TL;DR
  • CLCP here means Certified Life Care Planner, the credential issued by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC).
  • The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items, with a published cutoff of 79.
  • Eligibility requires 120 approved training hours, including 16 methodology/orientation/standards hours, and a peer-reviewed sample life care plan.
  • The older official handbook lists 17 knowledge areas, but no weights are published for any of them.

What CLCP Means in This Context

CLCP stands for Certified Life Care Planner. That is the only meaning used throughout this article and across this site. The acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials in other industries, and mixing them up leads candidates to chase the wrong fees, the wrong exam dates, and the wrong study material. If you are researching life care planning, rehabilitation, case management, or medical-legal consulting, this is the credential you are looking at.

A Certified Life Care Planner is a professional who prepares a structured, evidence-based projection of the future medical and related needs of a person with a catastrophic injury or chronic condition, along with the expected costs of meeting those needs over their lifetime. The credential signals that the holder has met defined education, experience, and training standards and passed a certification examination. For other angles on the same question, see our related explainers on what CLCP stands for, CLCP meaning, and what a CLCP is.

What a Certified Life Care Planner Actually Does

The work sits at the intersection of healthcare, vocational rehabilitation, finance, and the legal system. A life care plan is not a treatment plan in the clinical sense. It is a forward-looking document that identifies what a person is likely to need, how often, for how long, and at what cost. The audience is usually an attorney, an insurer, a court, or a settlement negotiator.

The core work cycle

Although every case differs, the professional workflow follows a recognizable arc, and it maps closely onto the knowledge areas the certification covers:

  • File development and records request: establishing the case file and obtaining medical, educational, vocational, and billing records.
  • Records review: reading through those records to understand diagnosis, history, prognosis, and gaps.
  • Data collection: interviewing the person and family, consulting treating providers, and gathering supporting information.
  • Needs assessment: translating findings into specific categories of future need, such as medical care, equipment, home modifications, and attendant care.
  • Financial resources and costing: pricing each recommended item using defensible sources.
  • Report preparation and report writing: assembling the plan into a clear, defensible document.
  • Litigation support: explaining and defending the plan in deposition or testimony when required.
Why the process matters for the exam: The certification is built around this professional workflow rather than around a single body of clinical knowledge. Candidates who understand why each step exists, and how a weak step undermines the next one, tend to reason through scenario questions more reliably than those who memorize isolated facts.

Who Issues the Credential

The Certified Life Care Planner credential is administered by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). The same body appears as the first of the content areas in its own handbook, an unusual feature that reflects how much the certification expects candidates to understand the certifying agency's standards, expectations, and conduct requirements.

According to the working handbook, examination delivery is identified with Prov/ProExam. Current 2026 booking instructions have not been independently verified, so confirm scheduling steps directly with ICHCC before you plan a test date. Our article on CLCP exam dates and scheduling tracks what is and is not confirmed.

The Eligibility Pathway

Eligibility is layered, and each layer has its own documentation burden. Based on the available handbook material, candidates need all of the following:

  1. Qualifying healthcare education or credentials appropriate to the field.
  2. Three years of relevant experience within the prior five years.
  3. 120 approved training hours, which must include 16 hours of methodology, orientation, and standards content.
  4. A peer-reviewed sample life care plan demonstrating applied competence.
A documented inconsistency to watch: The main ICHCC page describes a five-year lookback for training hours, while the older working handbook describes seven years. The linked 2026 handbook could not be accessed during research, so verify which window applies to you before you spend money on courses. Misreading this one detail could invalidate hours you thought were counting.

The sample plan is where many candidates slow down. It is reviewed by peers, and a review fee applies when relevant. Start it early, because it requires real case-style content and a coherent structure rather than a checklist. For the full qualification walk-through, see our CLCP requirements guide, and for course planning, see our overview of CLCP training.

Exam Format and What Is Documented

The documented examination consists of 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. Field-test items are pilot questions that do not count toward your result, but you will not know which ones they are, so treat every question as live.

FeatureWhat Is DocumentedStatus
Scored questions100 multiple-choiceDocumented
Unscored field-test itemsUp to 10Documented
Time allowance (online)3 hours 20 minutesConflicting with a 3-hour group instruction
Published cutoff79Documented
Current pass rateNot publicly disclosedUnavailable
Open-book policyUnverifiedConfirm with ICHCC
Calculator policyUnverifiedConfirm with ICHCC
Remote-room requirementsUnverifiedConfirm with ICHCC

Two points deserve emphasis. First, the time allowance appears in two forms: 3 hours 20 minutes for the online format and a conflicting 3-hour group instruction. Plan for the shorter figure until your confirmation says otherwise. Second, the published cutoff of 79 is a number to know, but its exact interpretation, as a raw count or a scaled value, should be confirmed with the certifying body. Our CLCP passing score article covers how to think about it, and our pass rate analysis explains why no pass-rate percentage is offered here: none is publicly disclosed.

What the question style tends to reward

Because the content areas are professional-practice oriented, expect scenario-driven items where you choose the best next step, the most defensible source, or the most appropriate action given a standard. Questions about the agency, ethics, and conduct reward precise knowledge of the handbook language. Questions about data collection, records, and report writing reward judgment about sequence and defensibility. If you want a sense of difficulty in context, read how hard the CLCP exam is.

The 17 Content Areas

The older official working handbook lists 17 areas, representing 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. No weights are published for any of them, so no single area can be identified as the largest. That is a deliberate exception to the usual practice of publishing a percentage table, and it means anyone claiming exact domain percentages for this credential is not working from a published source. Because the current outline could not be confirmed against the inaccessible 2026 handbook, treat this list as the best available structure and recheck it before your exam.

Agency and Professional Foundations

These areas cover the certifying body itself and the candidate's ongoing obligations.

  • International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency: the agency's role, standards, and expectations.
  • Professional Development: continuing education, growth, and maintaining competence.
  • Marketing: how a planner presents services appropriately and ethically.
  • Collaboration: working with attorneys, clinicians, families, and other professionals.
  • Information Sharing: what may be disclosed, to whom, and under what conditions.

Case Intake and Evidence Gathering

These areas concern building the factual foundation of a plan.

  • File Development: structuring and maintaining the case file.
  • Records Request: identifying, requesting, and documenting records.
  • Records Review: analyzing medical and other records for relevant findings.
  • Data Collection: interviews, consultations, and supporting information.

Plan Construction and Costing

These areas cover turning findings into a usable projection.

  • Needs Assessment: identifying future needs by category.
  • Care Plan Development: organizing recommendations into a coherent plan.
  • Vocational Consideration: how work capacity and vocational factors interact with the plan.
  • Financial Resources: sourcing and applying costs defensibly.
  • Knowledge Applications: applying methodology and standards to specific scenarios.

Communication and Legal Interface

These areas cover producing and defending the work product.

  • Report Preparation: assembling the document and supporting material.
  • Report Writing: clear, accurate, defensible written communication.
  • Litigation Support: deposition, testimony, and working within the legal process.

Notice that Report Preparation and Report Writing appear as separate areas, and so do Records Request and Records Review. The handbook treats preparation and execution as distinct competencies, so expect questions that test the difference. For a deeper walk through each area, see our complete guide to all 17 CLCP content areas.

Fees and Registration Mechanics

The fee structure from the available sources is straightforward but has gaps worth knowing about before you budget.

FeeAmountNotes
Initial application$495Core certification application
Retest$150If you need to retake the exam
Sample-plan review$375Applies when relevant
Renewal (preapproved education)$400Listed in the shop
Renewal (non-preapproved education)$450Listed in the shop
Renewal by exam$895Alternative to education-based renewal

No member differential was found, meaning no confirmed discount for association members. It is also not confirmed whether proctor fees are fully included in the stated amounts, so ask before you assume that the exam fee covers everything. Training costs, which can be the largest single expense given the 120-hour requirement, are separate and vary by provider. Our CLCP certification cost breakdown pulls these figures together.

Key Takeaway

Build your budget in layers: application, sample-plan review, training hours, and a retest contingency. Then add a question to ICHCC about proctoring costs so there are no surprises on exam day.

Who Hires Certified Life Care Planners

Demand for the credential comes mainly from settings where future care needs must be quantified for decision-making. Common employment and engagement contexts include:

  • Independent consulting practices serving plaintiff or defense attorneys in personal injury and medical malpractice matters.
  • Rehabilitation and case management firms that offer life care planning as a service line.
  • Insurance carriers and third-party administrators evaluating long-term exposure on catastrophic claims.
  • Healthcare organizations and rehabilitation facilities supporting families and care transitions.
  • Special needs and fiduciary planning contexts where long-term care funding must be projected.

Because many planners work as independent consultants, the credential often functions as a marketing and credibility asset as much as an employment requirement. That connects directly to the Marketing and Litigation Support areas on the exam. We discuss specific roles in our CLCP jobs overview, and if you are weighing pay, see the CLCP salary guide, which treats earnings qualitatively rather than quoting unsupported figures.

Renewal and Staying Certified

Certification is not permanent. Renewal occurs every five years and requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. The ethics requirement mirrors the exam's emphasis on professional conduct and the agency's standards.

You have two broad renewal routes. The education route costs $400 when the education is preapproved or $450 when it is not. The exam route, at $895, lets you renew by retaking the examination instead. Most working planners will find the education route more practical, since the continuing education also supports the Professional Development area and keeps methodology current.

Deciding Whether This Credential Fits Your Career

The right question is not whether the credential is impressive but whether it matches the work you want. Consider these decision points:

  • You already work near medical-legal or rehabilitation settings. The credential formalizes skills you use and gives them a recognized label.
  • You want independent consulting. Certification can help differentiate you when attorneys choose an expert.
  • You dislike litigation environments. Litigation Support is one of the 17 areas, and much of the work product is ultimately used in legal contexts.
  • You cannot meet the experience and training thresholds yet. Plan a multi-year path instead of rushing an application.

For a structured look at the return on the investment, read whether the CLCP certification is worth it. For a broader overview of the credential itself, our pages on CLCP certification and what CLCP certification is cover complementary ground.

A short, domain-aware study sequence

Since weights are unpublished, spread your attention evenly instead of betting on a favorite area. A sensible order follows the case workflow:

Weeks 1-2

Agency, Ethics, and Foundations

  • Read the handbook language on ICHCC standards and conduct.
  • Cover Professional Development, Marketing, Collaboration, and Information Sharing.
Weeks 3-4

Evidence Gathering

  • File Development, Records Request, Records Review, and Data Collection.
  • Practice distinguishing what to request from what to review.
Weeks 5-6

Plan Construction

  • Needs Assessment, Care Plan Development, Vocational Consideration, Financial Resources, Knowledge Applications.
Week 7

Reporting and Litigation

  • Report Preparation, Report Writing, and Litigation Support, then timed practice.

This sequence mirrors how a real case unfolds, which makes the relationships between areas easier to retain. For a fuller approach, see the CLCP study guide and the one-page CLCP cheat sheet. When you are ready to test yourself, work through realistic questions on our CLCP practice test platform, and revisit weak areas on the main practice site.

A note on weighted mock exams: Because no domain weights are published and the current outline could not be confirmed against the 2026 handbook, any practice exam that claims precise domain percentages should be treated with caution. Use practice questions to find gaps across all 17 areas rather than to calibrate against an assumed blueprint.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CLCP stand for in this context?

CLCP stands for Certified Life Care Planner, a credential issued by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). The acronym is shared by unrelated credentials elsewhere, so confirm you are reading material about life care planning specifically.

How many questions are on the Certified Life Care Planner exam?

The documented format is 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. You will not know which items are unscored, so answer every question as though it counts.

What is the passing score?

A cutoff of 79 is published. A current pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so no percentage is quoted here. Confirm with ICHCC how the cutoff is applied to your result.

What does it cost to get certified?

The initial application is $495, a retest is $150, and a sample-plan review is $375 when applicable. Training for the required 120 hours is separate. It is not confirmed whether proctor fees are fully included, so verify before budgeting.

How often must the credential be renewed?

Every five years, with 80 education credits or hours including 8 in ethics. Renewal costs $400 with preapproved education, $450 without, or $895 to renew by exam.

Ready to pass your CLCP exam?

Put this into practice with free CLCP questions across every exam domain.