CLCP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does CLCP Stand For?

TL;DR
  • On this site, CLCP means Certified Life Care Planner, a credential awarded through ICHCC.
  • The exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items.
  • The published cutoff is 79, but a current pass rate is not publicly disclosed.
  • Eligibility requires a peer-reviewed sample life care plan and 120 approved training hours.

The Short Answer: Certified Life Care Planner

CLCP stands for Certified Life Care Planner. It is a professional credential for clinicians and related professionals who prepare life care plans: structured, evidence-based documents that project the future medical, rehabilitative, equipment, home-modification, and support needs of a person with a catastrophic injury or chronic condition, along with the associated costs over that person's life expectancy.

If you landed here searching for the meaning of the letters, that is the full answer. The rest of this article explains what sits behind them: who grants the credential, what the exam covers, what you must do to qualify, and what the credential signals to employers, attorneys, and insurers. If you want a broader overview, our pages on what CLCP is and the meaning of CLCP cover the same ground from different angles.

Why the Acronym Causes Confusion

The letters C-L-C-P are shared by more than one professional credential in different fields. Searching the acronym alone can surface material about entirely unrelated certifications, each with its own certifying body, exam, fees, and renewal rules. None of that material applies here.

Identity check: Everything on this page concerns the Certified Life Care Planner credential administered through the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). If a source you are reading discusses a different certifying organization, different fees, or a different exam structure, it is describing another credential that happens to share the abbreviation.

This matters practically. Candidates sometimes budget for the wrong fees, plan around the wrong exam length, or study the wrong topics because they read content written for a different credential. Verify the certifying body before you trust any fact about the exam.

Who Awards the Credential

The Certified Life Care Planner credential is associated with the International Commission on Health Care Certification, abbreviated ICHCC. Notably, the agency itself appears as the first entry in the exam's content outline, which signals that candidates are expected to understand the certifying agency's role, standards, and procedures, not just clinical or financial planning skills.

The working handbook identifies Prov/ProExam as the exam delivery vendor. Current 2026 booking instructions have not been verified, and the linked 2026 handbook could not be accessed during our research, so confirm scheduling mechanics directly with ICHCC before you commit to a date. For deadlines and windows, see our guide to CLCP exam dates.

What a Certified Life Care Planner Actually Does

Understanding the title helps explain why the exam covers so many seemingly unrelated areas. A life care planner is part clinician, part researcher, part report writer, and part expert witness. The work typically follows a recognizable arc:

  1. Receive the referral and request records. The planner obtains medical, therapy, employment, and educational records relevant to the individual.
  2. Review the file. Records are read for diagnoses, treatment history, functional limitations, and prognosis indicators.
  3. Collect data. This may include interviews, assessments, and consultation with treating providers and other specialists.
  4. Assess needs. The planner identifies future care categories: physician follow-up, medications, therapies, equipment, supplies, home and vehicle modifications, attendant care, and more.
  5. Price the plan. Each item is tied to frequency, duration, and a documented cost source.
  6. Write the report. The plan is presented in a defensible, organized format.
  7. Support the case. In litigation settings, the planner may be deposed or testify about the plan's methodology and conclusions.

That workflow maps closely to the exam's content areas, which is why topics like records request, records review, file development, data collection, and report writing each appear as their own listed area.

What It Takes to Earn the Letters

You cannot simply sit for the exam and earn the title. Eligibility, as documented in the working handbook, combines education, experience, specialized training, and a work sample:

  • Qualifying healthcare education or credentials. Candidates must hold a qualifying background in a healthcare-related field.
  • Experience. Three years of relevant experience within the prior five years.
  • Training. 120 approved training hours, including 16 hours covering methodology, orientation, and standards.
  • A peer-reviewed sample life care plan. You must submit a plan that undergoes review.
Conflicting lookback windows: The main ICHCC page describes a five-year lookback for the training hours, while the older working handbook describes seven years. Because the 2026 handbook was inaccessible to us, treat this as unresolved and confirm which window applies to you before you spend money on courses.

For a full walkthrough of qualifying pathways, read our CLCP requirements guide, and see CLCP training for how the 120 hours typically get assembled.

The Exam Behind the Letters

The documented examination consists of 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. Field-test items are experimental questions being evaluated for future use; they do not count toward your result, but you will not know which ones they are, so treat every question seriously.

Exam ElementWhat the Documentation Shows
Question formatMultiple choice
Scored items100
Unscored field-test itemsUp to 10
Online time allowance3 hours 20 minutes (a conflicting group instruction states 3 hours)
Published cutoff79
Current pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Open-book, calculator, and remote-room policiesUnverified for the current cycle

Two cautions. First, the time allowance has a documented conflict, so confirm your exact limit at registration. Second, the policies on reference materials, calculators, and remote testing environments could not be verified, so do not assume anything about what you may bring or how your room will be checked. Our pages on the CLCP passing score and CLCP pass rate explain what the published cutoff does and does not tell you, and how hard the CLCP exam is discusses difficulty in context.

The 17 Content Areas

The older official working handbook lists 17 areas, representing 16 knowledge factors plus agency knowledge. No weights are published for these areas, so no single area can honestly be called the most heavily tested. Plan to be competent across all of them. Our companion piece, CLCP Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 17 Content Areas, goes deeper on each one.

Agency and Professional Framework

These areas test whether you understand the certifying body and your own professional obligations.

  • International Commission on Health Care Certification Agency: the certifying organization's role, standards, and procedures.
  • Professional Development: ongoing learning, standards, and ethical practice.
  • Marketing: how planners present services appropriately within professional boundaries.
  • Collaboration: working with treating providers, attorneys, case managers, and other experts.

Building the File

These areas cover how information is gathered before any plan is written.

  • Records Request: identifying and obtaining the right documents.
  • Records Review: extracting clinically relevant facts from what you receive.
  • File Development: organizing material so the plan is traceable and defensible.
  • Data Collection: gathering information beyond records, including interviews and assessments.
  • Information Sharing: what may be disclosed, to whom, and under what circumstances.

Developing the Plan

The analytical core of the discipline.

  • Needs Assessment: translating a person's condition into projected future needs.
  • Care Plan Development: structuring those needs into a coherent plan with frequencies and durations.
  • Vocational Consideration: how work capacity and employment factors intersect with the plan.
  • Financial Resources: costing methods, sources, and the financial context around care.
  • Knowledge Applications: applying clinical and planning knowledge to realistic scenarios.

Reporting and Legal Context

Where the plan becomes a work product that must withstand scrutiny.

  • Report Preparation and Report Writing: two separate listed areas covering assembly and communication of the final document.
  • Litigation Support: the planner's role in legal proceedings, including how plans are used and challenged.

Key Takeaway

Because weights are unpublished and the 2026 outline could not be confirmed, treat any study resource claiming exact domain percentages with suspicion. Cover all 17 areas, and re-check the current outline with ICHCC before finalizing your plan.

Fees Attached to the Credential

The fee structure documented for the credential is as follows:

ItemAmount
Initial application$495
Retest$150
Sample-plan review (when applicable)$375
Renewal, preapproved education$400
Renewal, non-preapproved education$450
Renewal by exam$895

We found no member discount structure, and we could not confirm whether proctoring fees are fully included in the application price. Ask about that explicitly before you pay. Training-hour costs are separate and are often the largest expense in the whole process. See CLCP certification cost for a full budgeting framework, and whether the credential is worth it for the return-on-investment side.

Keeping the Credential Current

The credential renews on a five-year cycle. Renewal requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. You can renew through education (at the preapproved or non-preapproved rate listed above) or by retaking the exam. Choosing preapproved education is the lower-cost path, so check approval status before you enroll in a course you intend to apply toward renewal.

Where Certified Life Care Planners Work

The title tends to appear in settings where future care costs must be quantified and defended:

  • Independent life care planning practices serving attorneys on personal injury, medical malpractice, and similar matters.
  • Rehabilitation and case management firms that offer planning as one service line.
  • Law firms and insurers that retain planners as consultants or expert witnesses on either side of a claim.
  • Healthcare organizations where nurses, therapists, and social workers extend into planning roles.

The credential does not guarantee a particular title or income, and we have no verified earnings figures to quote. For discussion of the market, see our CLCP salary guide and CLCP jobs overview.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Content Areas

Since the 17 areas follow the real workflow of a case, you can study them in the order a case unfolds. One sensible sequence:

Weeks 1-2

Agency, ethics, and professional framework

  • ICHCC standards and procedures
  • Professional development and ethics (these also feed your future renewal hours)
  • Marketing and collaboration boundaries
Weeks 3-4

File building

  • Records request and records review
  • File development and data collection
  • Information sharing rules
Weeks 5-6

Plan construction

  • Needs assessment and care plan development
  • Vocational consideration and financial resources
  • Knowledge applications through case scenarios
Weeks 7-8

Reporting, litigation, and full review

  • Report preparation and report writing
  • Litigation support
  • Timed practice across all 17 areas

Adjust the pacing to your own background. A nurse case manager may need less time on records review and more on litigation support; an attorney-facing consultant may need the opposite. Our CLCP study guide and CLCP cheat sheet can supplement this outline, and you can test yourself with the CLCP practice tests to find which areas need more attention.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CLCP stand for?

On this site, CLCP stands for Certified Life Care Planner, a credential associated with the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). The same letters are used by other, unrelated credentials, so always confirm the certifying body before relying on any exam detail.

How many questions are on the Certified Life Care Planner exam?

The documented exam has 100 scored multiple-choice questions plus up to 10 unscored field-test items. The published cutoff is 79. A current pass rate is not publicly disclosed.

Do I need experience before I can sit for the exam?

Yes. Documented eligibility includes qualifying healthcare education or credentials, three years of relevant experience in the prior five, 120 approved training hours (including 16 on methodology, orientation, and standards), and a peer-reviewed sample life care plan.

How often must the credential be renewed?

Every five years. Renewal requires 80 education credits or hours, including 8 in ethics. Listed renewal fees are $400 for preapproved education, $450 for non-preapproved education, and $895 for renewal by exam.

Which exam content area carries the most weight?

No weights are published for the 17 listed areas, so it is not possible to name the largest one. Prepare across all areas and confirm the current outline with ICHCC, since the 2026 handbook could not be verified.

Understanding that CLCP means Certified Life Care Planner is the starting point. The real work is meeting the eligibility requirements, mastering all 17 content areas, and confirming the current exam mechanics directly with ICHCC. For a deeper dive into the credential itself, continue with CLCP certification and what CLCP certification is.

Ready to pass your CLCP exam?

Put this into practice with free CLCP questions across every exam domain.